Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Results 51 to 60 of 60

Thread: General UPS and AVR discussion

  1. #51
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,130
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    542
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    284
    Thanked in
    204 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Another fine theory bites the dust...

    Would be neat if the Guru could measure the voltage on the primary capacitors under sine and simulated input (for various Corsairs)
    I've been meaning to, but have been too busy.

    There's a lot of FUD going around about using square wave UPS's with PCs, but 99% of the folks out there never have a problem.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    Gamefoo21 (12-12-2018)

  3. #52
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,983
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    I'm just here to learn, not make trouble.

  4. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    adamsleath (12-11-2018), ehume (12-11-2018), Gamefoo21 (12-11-2018), rgbodosk (12-21-2018)

  5. #53
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    SK, Canada
    Posts
    19
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I know it can happen but I'm in that 99% I had my parents i5-25** on an APC 1500VA UPS that's fancy part was it's LCD display. It was a Costco special, so it might have been a pure sine wave unit... maybe.

    The worst part was the first PSU in it was some superbly horrible OE unit Asus had stuffed in there, that I replaced with an FSP 450W for a while, before switching to a Seagate Bronze 380W unit. It ran for years and a battery replacement until the motherboard finally died a month ago.

    Edit: Yes, I disabled sleep and the bios low power states while using that FSP. It was still running when I sent it to tge electronics recycling depot.

    I've run other various boxes off of modified sine wave Cyberpower UPS units. They've all soldiered on during power outages or triggered shut downs due to battery levels getting low enough.

    So... I think if you throw a crappy psu with a bad design at it, you'll have issues.

    Then you get the whole line active vs passive UPS types, that can cause a problem as there's a definite lag time from the input power drop to the UPS stepping in. I know the step in type are more efficient but I have to wonder if that's not where a bunch of issues come from too.

    Line active types are constantly processing the power going out(like a power conditioner) whereas the passive type isolate the battery section until the line power goes out of spec. That's my understanding of them anyways.

    Hmm...

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    I'm just here to learn, not make trouble.
    Would nice if everyone was. Though sometimes learning can cause trouble.

    I don't and will never know everything and that's why I'm not a fan of 'experts', because I know that I am always learning more.
    Last edited by Gamefoo21; 12-11-2018 at 03:55 PM.

  6. #54
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,983
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gamefoo21 View Post
    Though sometimes learning can cause trouble.
    Story of my life.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 12-11-2018 at 04:52 PM.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    Gamefoo21 (12-11-2018)

  8. #55
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I noticed on the tripp lite website that you can plug a line conditioner into another surge protector so i went for it. seems to be working fine so far. i got a 2 plug 1440 joule isobar wall unit with 2 very visible status lights i can see from across the room and plugged the line conditioner into it. the idea is if i get a deadly spike the $22 wall unit will die instead of the $160 power conditioner. if i get hit with anything really nasty it'll have to get through the wall unit AND the surge protection built into the conditioner but theotetically i'll be able to replace the cheaper unit to protect the expensive one. here's the wall protector https://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-Pr.../dp/B0000510R4

    any reason this is a bad idea?

    p.s. it would be nice if the surge protection in the power conditioner was modular and replaceable. something you can just pop in. oh well. also, if tripp lite is looking, please come out with a modular surge protector with a row of blocks you can pop in and out that each have a light that goes red one at a time from the wall outward one at a time as they wear out that you can replace in a minute for 5 or 10 bucks and all add up to 15k joules of protection when combined. thanks!

    p.s.s. I hear the line conditioner click regularly when the trash compacter motor and the refrigerator compressor go off. looks like a good purchase!
    Last edited by Brando; 12-29-2018 at 12:07 PM.

  9. #56
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,983
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    I have around a dozen TrippLite isobar units for many years now; not one has lost 'protection present'

    The 2 plug wall protector is 1410 J, the line conditioner 1440 J

    What is the standby power on the unit?
    Last edited by ashiekh; 12-29-2018 at 01:53 PM.

  10. #57
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    I have around a dozen TrippLite isobar units for many years now; not one has lost 'protection present'

    The 2 plug wall protector is 1410 J, the line conditioner 1440 J

    What is the standby power on the unit?
    i'm sorry i didn't see that in the specs
    https://www.tripplite.com/1800w-120v...outlets~LC1800

  11. #58
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,983
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    Do you have the means to measure it? The P3 Kill-A-Watt is less than $20
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ashiekh; 12-29-2018 at 09:50 PM.

  12. #59
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Do you have the means to measure it? The P3 Kill-A-Watt is less than $20
    i don't at the moment but i may get one. seems useful.

  13. #60
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,983
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    Keep us posted; every Watt of standby load costs $1 a year if the electricity is cheap.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 12-30-2018 at 11:16 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Review Sample Pre-Screening discussion (from CS-M review discussion)
    By Spectre in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 01-30-2014, 11:36 AM
  2. Myself and Chris Katzer talking be quiet! and PSUs in general
    By Original Sin in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-22-2013, 05:27 AM
  3. General Zod for President
    By Oklahoma Wolf in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2011, 03:08 PM
  4. So where's the thread? (BFG ES-800 discussion)
    By Deceitkin in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 03-08-2008, 07:01 PM
  5. General question on 12V rails
    By sdrac in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2007, 12:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •