Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Adapt power head to different universal power brick

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    113
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Adapt power head to different universal power brick

    I made a previous topic about buying a failed fsp twinkle product which advertised a power head for my laptop that eventually was not ibcluded nor could i locate it successfully
    http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16140

    In any case i got an oficial hp head for my ultrabook (HP430) and im looking if there is any way to adjust it to that fsp univeral cable so as to not let it go to waste and have a second brick for my laptop

    This is what i want to adjust
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,929
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    208
    Thanked in
    152 Posts

    Default

    Cut and splice.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,899
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    108
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    44
    Thanked in
    38 Posts

    Default

    When splicing cable, it is good to stagger
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,929
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    208
    Thanked in
    152 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    When splicing cable, it is good to stagger
    Yes!

    Otherwise you get that "unsightly bulge".

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    113
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I dont know what any of this mean

    If i assign the task to a local electrician will he be able to do this and look neat without deatroying the cablea

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,929
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    208
    Thanked in
    152 Posts

    Default

    All we're saying to do is to cut the two cables and splice them together.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOWoQnHkSSM

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,899
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    108
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    44
    Thanked in
    38 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Yes!

    Otherwise you get that "unsightly bulge".
    I do it for less chance of a short

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    113
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Since first brick shows 2 pins and official hp shows 3, does that mean one cable with have 2 wires and the other 3?

    So how do i join a 2 wire cable to a 3 wire one

    Also instead of soldering wires, wouldnt it be better and more neat to ise power connectors

    Like have a female jack at the end



    and a plug connecting to the other


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,929
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    208
    Thanked in
    152 Posts

    Default

    I don't know why there would be three wires on the DC side.

    There should be one conductor for each wire. Usually you have two: The inside and the outside. Then a plastic insulator. This is quite visible in picture #2 above.

    If there's a third conductor, there's usually a ring in the middle to break up the two contact points, like the kind you see on headphone jacks.

  10. #10
    cheapie's Avatar
    cheapie is offline That weird furry girl they warned you about
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Earth, I think
    Posts
    338
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    I don't know why there would be three wires on the DC side.
    Most likely is that they're positive, negative, and data (for the adapter ID ROM).

    Also possible is that the 3rd is just for keying.

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for Universal Power brick for laptop
    By therock003 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-15-2018, 04:12 AM
  2. Eurocoms.... 780W(!!!) power brick.
    By ridgid13579 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 02-15-2017, 01:48 AM
  3. You think you've seen all the gutless power brick wonders?
    By Behemot in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-18-2016, 04:38 PM
  4. Anyone ever recapped a laptop power brick?
    By KMFDM in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-24-2013, 03:17 PM
  5. Any info on laptop power supply brick?
    By nomadh in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-2006, 08:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •