Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Mismatched RAM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,771
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    89
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    28
    Thanked in
    26 Posts

    Default Mismatched RAM

    I have a computer that had mismatched RAM (sticks from different manufacturers) and while it passed all tests it would sometimes not come out of sleep. I am now trying matched RAM and so far the problem has not reoccured; it happened about once a month so I can't be sure it is cured.

    Anyone else seen anything like this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,707
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    512
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    121
    Thanked in
    91 Posts

    Default

    Can you manually set your memory timings to that of the lowest common denominator in the BIOS?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,467
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    24
    Thanked in
    22 Posts

    Default

    Normally stuff like that means that one of the Sticks is bad.
    And intermittand failures really suck. Wich means that maybe a bit or two are broken...

    I've used "Mismatched" DIMMs a couple of times. Like 1 Stick Mushkin Essential and 1 Nanya DDR-3 SDRAM, all 1333. On X79 and it worked fine...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,771
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    89
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    28
    Thanked in
    26 Posts

    Default

    My mix is DDR2 Micron and Nanya; I have moved them to another machine.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 12-10-2018 at 05:33 PM.

  5. #5
    cheapie's Avatar
    cheapie is offline That weird furry girl they warned you about
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Earth, I think
    Posts
    338
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I've never actually had any problems running mismatched RAM, though I never use sleep mode either...

    Heck, once I even had a box running with 4 different sticks of DDR2 totaling 5.5GB (2 different 2GB, one 1GB, and one 512MB) and everything seemed to work fine. It even reported that it was running in "asymmetric dual channel" mode. That board did not allow me to view or set memory timings, but I suspect it was probably just running at the speed of the 512MB stick, which was the slowest one.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to cheapie For This Useful Post:

    GDILord (12-12-2018)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,771
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    89
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    28
    Thanked in
    26 Posts

    Default

    Thanks to all for the help, the Internet has totally changed how things are done; often for the better.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,771
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    89
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    28
    Thanked in
    26 Posts

    Default

    The problem returned, so it has nothing to do with mismatched RAM

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    aleciadooley (04-12-2019)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •