Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Can 600w 80plus bronze handle rtx 2080?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,038
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    362
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    You're looking at a totally different power supply.

    This is the power supply:


    But I also wouldn't recommend this PSU for a PC with a RTX 2080. This is a decent low-end power supply which is something you should use in a decent low-end gaming PC.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,382
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    497
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    19
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    You're looking at a totally different power supply.
    Odd that they would use the same convoluted part number (IP-P600KQ3-2) for a completely different PSU. Why not IP-P600KQ3-3?

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post

    But I also wouldn't recommend this PSU for a PC with a RTX 2080. This is a decent low-end power supply which is something you should use in a decent low-end gaming PC.
    That PSU looks even worse!
    Last edited by jonnyGURU; 10-29-2018 at 12:38 PM.
    Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

    Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,038
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    362
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Odd that they would use the same convoluted part number (IP-P600KQ3-2) for a completely different PSU. Why not IP-P600KQ3-3?
    They didn't.

    That PSU looks even worse!
    This one is clearly cheaper to make, not sure if it really is worse overal. Need a review from Aris.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,382
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    497
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    19
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    They didn't.
    DOH!

    Just noticed they replaced the "C" with a "K" in the part number.
    Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

    Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,365
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    The IP-P600KQ3-2 isn't a horrible PSU. Double forward with DC to DC.
    Though only "cheated DC-DC" as in only one Rail, not both:
    https://www.hardwaresecrets.com/in-w...pply-review/2/


    From afar, if they didn't change things, that looks like a group regulated unit, doesn't it?


    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Odd that they would use the same convoluted part number (IP-P600KQ3-2) for a completely different PSU. Why not IP-P600KQ3-3?
    Because there are System Integrators that wouldn't understand it and stop using it, so some companys (for example LC-Power) use the same numbering from their Huntkey days, although they sell completely different units...

    You might remember them, one of those used Corsair PCBs in them

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    That PSU looks even worse!
    Well, kinda but also kinda better...
    Better its DC-DC for both minor rails.
    Worse. Everything else, especially the 8pin protection IC instead of the one supporting 4 Rails...

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Korea
    Posts
    76
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    33
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stefan Payne View Post
    Though only "cheated DC-DC" as in only one Rail, not both:
    https://www.hardwaresecrets.com/in-w...pply-review/2/


    From afar, if they didn't change things, that looks like a group regulated unit, doesn't it?



    Because there are System Integrators that wouldn't understand it and stop using it, so some companys (for example LC-Power) use the same numbering from their Huntkey days, although they sell completely different units...

    You might remember them, one of those used Corsair PCBs in them


    Well, kinda but also kinda better...
    Better its DC-DC for both minor rails.
    Worse. Everything else, especially the 8pin protection IC instead of the one supporting 4 Rails...
    How is the behavior different comparing both-rail DC and only-single DC?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    4,997
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    401
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rgbodosk View Post
    How is the behavior different comparing both-rail DC and only-single DC?
    In the case of that specific InWin unit the 5v & 12v are regulated together still, while the 3.3v is generated by and regulated with a DC-DC module. Which means you still get poor 5v/12v crossload performance.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,365
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Though the 3,3V Rail was always regulated independently, mainly based off of the 5V rail...
    There were some really weird things going on in some like a linear regulator for 3,3V...

    That doesn't really make it better as 12V is the important rail right now and 5V should be independant of that...

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    100
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Absolutely, a 330uf filter man or the two 680s. A non issue with hold up and the fire requirements lol, they don't even filter the secondary like they use to..probably cause it don't need it. I don't know wanna do the wierd stuff and controller stuff. But that one is still a good unit and decent filter.
    Ryzen 2600x 4.3 1.375v, Loop
    MSI X470 Gaming Plus
    Evga SuperSC 3200mhz CL15
    PNY NVME 480gb
    Mushkin ECo3 480gb
    WD Blue 1tb
    Cooler Master GX II Pro 750w

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    phoenix,az
    Posts
    122
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    why buy this case..and add a quality power supplies to it...
    https://www.amazon.com/CORSAIR-Micro...ords=in+win+a1

Similar Threads

  1. Aerocool Xpredator 80PLUS Bronze and Gold PSU series
    By -The_Mask- in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 01-07-2018, 07:40 AM
  2. be quiet! System Power 8 400W, 500W and 600W, 80PLUS 230V EU
    By -The_Mask- in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-27-2015, 04:48 PM
  3. Super Flower Intros New 80PLUS Bronze 550W Modular PSU
    By -The_Mask- in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-20-2012, 06:54 PM
  4. SeaSonic SS-750AT 750Watt VS Antec HCG 750W 80Plus Bronze
    By no_alone in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-14-2011, 04:17 PM
  5. 80plus with Bronze,Silver,Gold
    By ronliang in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-05-2008, 12:12 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •