Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Can 600w 80plus bronze handle rtx 2080?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Can 600w 80plus bronze handle rtx 2080?

    Hello.

    I am planning to build with this spec (stock, no OC)

    Ryzen 2700
    asus rog strix x470-i gaming
    Gpu : rtx 2080 gaming oc
    Ram : tridentz rgb 3000mhz (2x8)
    Ssd : samsung 860 evo 250gb
    Hdd : WD BLUE 1TB
    Cooler : nzxt m22
    Fan : in win polaris (3)
    Case : in win a1

    My main concern is, does the build in 600w 80plus bronze psu suitable to run rtx2080 with this setup?

    This is my first pc build, help needed ��
    Last edited by safwan; 10-28-2018 at 11:44 PM. Reason: Additional info for OC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    America's Wang
    Posts
    323
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    146
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by safwan View Post
    Hello.

    I am planning to build with this spec (stock, no OC)

    Ryzen 2700
    asus rog strix x470-i gaming
    Gpu : rtx 2080 gaming oc
    Ram : tridentz rgb 3000mhz (2x8)
    Ssd : samsung 860 evo 250gb
    Hdd : WD BLUE 1TB
    Cooler : nzxt m22
    Fan : in win polaris (3)
    Case : in win a1

    My main concern is, does the build in 600w 80plus bronze psu suitable to run rtx2080 with this setup?

    This is my first pc build, help needed ��

    What PSU's are you looking for, or what websites are the PSU's available?
    ....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyrix View Post
    What PSU's are you looking for, or what websites are the PSU's available?
    The psu is already built in the case. In win A1 case. 600w 80plus bronze

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,382
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    497
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    19
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by safwan View Post
    The psu is already built in the case. In win A1 case. 600w 80plus bronze
    There should still be a model name/number on the side of the PSU. That's the question.

    Some 600W's are really 600W's... others are not.
    Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

    Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,382
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    497
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    19
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    Ok.. I Googled your PSU and it looks like it uses DC to DC because it has a 50A rail (50A * 12V = 600W). But I still don't know the topology or build quality.
    Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

    Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    There should still be a model name/number on the side of the PSU. That's the question.

    Some 600W's are really 600W's... others are not.
    Its : IP-P600KQ3-2

    Since nvidia recommended psu for rtx 2080 is 650w. Thats why i am havinv
    Some doubt to fit the gpu in that case

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,382
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    497
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    19
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    Right.

    Normally, a good quality 600W is more than sufficient. Nvidia suggests a 650W in case you don't know what you have and don't know if it's quality. You can sort of say they "round up".

    The IP-P600KQ3-2 isn't a horrible PSU. Double forward with DC to DC. I personally wouldn't use it for a 2080. Maybe a 1060 at the most. But it's not like it's going to blow up and take out all your hardware with it.
    Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

    Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    242
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    84
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Please explain why.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Right.

    Normally, a good quality 600W is more than sufficient. Nvidia suggests a 650W in case you don't know what you have and don't know if it's quality. You can sort of say they "round up".

    The IP-P600KQ3-2 isn't a horrible PSU. Double forward with DC to DC. I personally wouldn't use it for a 2080. Maybe a 1060 at the most. But it's not like it's going to blow up and take out all your hardware with it.
    I see. Thanks for the advice

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,382
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    497
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    19
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by none77 View Post
    Please explain why.
    Why I wouldn't personally use a IP-P600KQ3-2?

    Old. Clearly InWin isn't going to want to use a newer PSU when bundling with a case since it cuts into their profit margins.

    Double forward front end. 85°C rated OST capacitors all around. Sleeve bearing fan.

    The reason why it's not going to damage anything is because it has complete transient filtering and a very good WT7525 supervisor IC.

    From 2010: https://www.hardwaresecrets.com/in-w...supply-review/

    From 2011: https://www.hardwareinsights.com/in-...2-600w-review/ (Images don't load)

    Interesting case. But I would prefer it without a PSU. Especially since it's a standard ATX included. An SFX PSU would give you a lot more room inside, but I don't like the PSU cover because you alway have that same size (ATX sized) block of plastic in that corner regardless of the size of your PSU, but that may be non-consequential as that piece doesn't seem to be too thick.
    Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

    Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to jonnyGURU For This Useful Post:

    none77 (10-29-2018)

Similar Threads

  1. Aerocool Xpredator 80PLUS Bronze and Gold PSU series
    By -The_Mask- in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 01-07-2018, 07:40 AM
  2. be quiet! System Power 8 400W, 500W and 600W, 80PLUS 230V EU
    By -The_Mask- in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-27-2015, 04:48 PM
  3. Super Flower Intros New 80PLUS Bronze 550W Modular PSU
    By -The_Mask- in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-20-2012, 06:54 PM
  4. SeaSonic SS-750AT 750Watt VS Antec HCG 750W 80Plus Bronze
    By no_alone in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-14-2011, 04:17 PM
  5. 80plus with Bronze,Silver,Gold
    By ronliang in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-05-2008, 12:12 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •