Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Choosing UPS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Choosing UPS

    Hello guys new here in the forum, i am looking to buy a ups for my pc my psu is an evga supernova 650g3, but i do not know what type i need to buy a pure sine wave or a good quality one.
    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,960
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    112
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    47 Posts

    Default

    You will be fine without a pure sine-wave unit.

    I am thinking to move one of mine to lithium
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ashiekh For This Useful Post:

    goude94 (09-11-2018)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,059
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    261
    Thanked in
    193 Posts

    Default

    Also remember that UPSs are marketed at their VA capability and not Watts. So a 500VA UPS may only support up to 300W.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    goude94 (09-11-2018)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,059
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    261
    Thanked in
    193 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    You will be fine without a pure sine-wave unit.

    I am thinking to move one of mine to lithium
    Those are rather expensive.

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,960
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    112
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    47 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Those are rather expensive.
    True, but last a good bit longer.
    https://www.dakotalithiumbattery.com...ithium-battery

    Anyhow, I think of doing a lot of things, but can afford very few.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 09-10-2018 at 09:58 PM.

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Also remember that UPSs are marketed at their VA capability and not Watts. So a 500VA UPS may only support up to 300W.
    Any suggestions on what ups to buy?

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    You will be fine without a pure sine-wave unit.

    I am thinking to move one of mine to lithium
    What is the difference with a simple one ?

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,960
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    112
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    47 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by goude94 View Post
    What is the difference with a simple one ?
    It is claimed to last a lot longer and contain more energy; but it also costs more. The sort of thing one might do when the original battery needs replacing.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 09-11-2018 at 02:16 PM.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    one more question if you do not mind can you plug a power strip to a ups?

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,059
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    261
    Thanked in
    193 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by goude94 View Post
    one more question if you do not mind can you plug a power strip to a ups?
    You can... but you risk overloading it if you plug too much into it.

Similar Threads

  1. Help choosing a UPS
    By TrickyNick in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-30-2011, 09:22 AM
  2. Help choosing a new PSU
    By TrickyNick in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-08-2011, 03:05 AM
  3. Choosing PSU
    By xazman in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-27-2011, 11:07 AM
  4. need help choosing a psu
    By Zeroshiki in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-10-2010, 01:21 AM
  5. Help Choosing a PS...
    By Nemesis in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-14-2006, 05:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •