Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 39

Thread: did i damage my cpu

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    phoenix,az
    Posts
    141
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    i build my own computers, i know the difference between pcie and 8 pin motherboard 8 pin connnector...my pcie connectors have a spit extra 2 pins, and are labled....there is only one 8 pin connector for the motherboard...i believe the psu a reconditioned thermaltake i bought years ago....all i want to know , is did damage something connecting the 8 pin connector to motherboard with psu on, and it snaped when i connected it

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    phoenix,az
    Posts
    141
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    also, i like math and physics, and hate grammar and english

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,529
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    503
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    46
    Thanked in
    36 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ronss View Post
    i build my own computers, i know the difference between pcie and 8 pin motherboard 8 pin connnector...my pcie connectors have a spit extra 2 pins, and are labled....there is only one 8 pin connector for the motherboard...i believe the psu a reconditioned thermaltake i bought years ago....all i want to know , is did damage something connecting the 8 pin connector to motherboard with psu on, and it snaped when i connected it
    I see guys all the time that build their own computers that accidently use a modular cable from a Corsair on an Antec or from a SilverStone on a Thermaltake and end up frying stuff. So the fact that you build your own computers means nothing to me.

    This isn't a contest over dick size. This is just me making sure you're using the correct cable with that particular PSU. Unless of course it's a non-modular PSU and there's no way the wrong cable could be used because it's fixed, but if you could just simply state what the PSU is we would be well past this point by now.

    Fact of the matter is: YOU posted your question in the PSU subforum which means you suspect the PSU. If there's anything to be suspect about the PSU is if you used the wrong cable with your particular PSU. Not necessarily a PCIe vs. an EPS12V, but the wrong BRAND cable on your brand PSU.

    The chances are that the CPU is fried is not impossible, but very slim. Coffee Lake CPUs don't have on-die VRM's. So the VRM's on the mobo would take the brunt force of any short, incorrect voltage, etc. The board would die, but the CPU could be unscathed.

    If you're troubleshooting with nothing but the PSU, motherboard, CPU and cooler and nothing else (no add-in cards, no memory, etc.) and it still doesn't post, then I would first suspect the PSU. Especially if it was a refurbished Thermaltake with fixed cables because that sounds like a highly suspicious time bomb (Thermaltake has no good fixed cable PSUs that I know of. They're all garbage).

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    33
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    22
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ronss View Post
    i build my own computers, i know the difference between pcie and 8 pin motherboard 8 pin connnector...my pcie connectors have a spit extra 2 pins, and are labled....there is only one 8 pin connector for the motherboard...i believe the psu a reconditioned thermaltake i bought years ago....all i want to know , is did damage something connecting the 8 pin connector to motherboard with psu on, and it snaped when i connected it
    Don't get mad, bro. We ask this basic stuff just to help you, not to be smart-ass pricks.

    And yes, I would suggest also you use another PSU, just in case.

    Now, normally the high end (ROG Strix and the red ROG ones.), and some PRIME MoBos have 3 or 4 lights that turn on sequentially: First, is the CPU test, the second is the RAM, Video card is third if it is on the Motherboard, and the last is BOOT OK. If the light stays on the CPU and then restart, it means the CPU is dead, if it stays on the memory, then it is a Memory fault, so check those sticks are well placed on their slots by removing them, put them again in place and giving them a good gentle push (RAM is kinda difficult to install sometimes.). The graphics card is very unlikely to had been affected.

    If it got no lights to see the POST status... try the RAM steps I wrote before. If that doesn't help, and all other possibilities yields the same result, well: Time to buy another CPU, I guess.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    2,360
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    If you hot-plug the EPS12V 8pin connector to the motherboard, it probably cause a surge on the +12V rail, and make some damage to the components nearby.
    It's been a hard day's night and I've been working like a dog.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,529
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    503
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    46
    Thanked in
    36 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Travis View Post
    If you hot-plug the EPS12V 8pin connector to the motherboard, it probably cause a surge on the +12V rail, and make some damage to the components nearby.
    Which is why he had to replace the motherboard.

    But the PC still isn't working.

    But that's all we know. We don't know what troubleshooting he's already done, how stripped down the PC is at this point. We don't even know what PSU he has.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    315
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    49
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    5 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    (Thermaltake has no good fixed cable PSUs that I know of. They're all garbage).
    Smart 750p/m, CWT PUQ-B re-brand
    Just some nerd from 'Straya

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    phoenix,az
    Posts
    141
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    i am replacing psu now, its a pc power and cooling, believe it was a fairly good psu during its time. i will replace it with my new seasonic focus 750. if that does now work, intel wants me to send pics of the cpu for possible replacement.. sorry..i cannot delete my cpr card

    IMG_20180810_124448[1].jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,529
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    503
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    46
    Thanked in
    36 Posts

    Default

    Let us know how the PC works with the PC Power PSU.

    So you still don't know what kind of PSU was in there and what cables were used with it?

    Good for you for going through CPR training.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    phoenix,az
    Posts
    141
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ronss View Post
    i am replacing psu now, its a pc power and cooling, believe it was a fairly good psu during its time. i will replace it with my new seasonic focus 750. if that does now work, intel wants me to send pics of the cpu for possible replacement.. sorry..i cannot delete my cpr card

    IMG_20180810_124448[1].jpg
    the pc power and cooling was the psu installed, i replaced it with my new focus 750 seasonic. the pc power and cooling i bought a long time ago, not real sure what date, but it seemed to be a quality unit. i bought it way before thermaltake bought them out..the computer still does not boot, acts like it wants to turn fans, but just a stutter on the fans...i have taken the cpu out and going to send intel pics, i am thinking its the motherboard. it looked like a couple of pins on motherboard are bent

Similar Threads

  1. What would cause this kind of damage?
    By maxp779 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-11-2016, 11:37 AM
  2. psu pcb board damage from miss screw wrong hole
    By slyphnier in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-14-2016, 02:14 PM
  3. Cheapest PSU which will not damage hardware
    By HelpPlease in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 03-05-2013, 02:10 PM
  4. Yet another fatality. Or, Cellular collateral damage.
    By Silk_the_Absent1 in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-10-2012, 09:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •