Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Replacing stock psu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Replacing stock psu

    Hello, im not very savvy about psu's and how much wattage or stuff like gold bronze etc. I ordered a low budget kinda barebones rig from newegg because i cant afford the gpu prices atm i went with a ryzen 5 2400g in it.

    Well its nothing special asrock a320 MB, sata ssd 258 gb i think, a reg hard drive 7200 1 terabyte, 2 stick of ddr4 8 gb ram by ripjaws i think it was 2660 prob the most expensive thing in there lol. the cpu has the wraith stealth cooler on it, and there is a stock case fan, i intend to add another fan and change that stock fan out to something better. All of it hooked to a 27 in monitor basic 1080p. Anyway here is the problem i dont trust stock psu that comes with it. Its 400 watts but no name brand. At some point down the road i will grab a better motherboard like a x370? and add on some other goodies.

    So when i check the coolermaster psu calculator, it says 750 watt psu is needed. Im fine with that but what im looking at is corsair cant beat the price.

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...08&ignorebbr=1

    I would love to get the evga 750
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16817438132

    But my case i dont think will support it, im not good with mm vs inches etc. My case says psu slot can hold Max PSU Length: 160mm (197mm total with cables)

    Also both seem really reliable, heat is an issue where i live so the cooler they run the better. What do you think?

    Thanks in advance,
    Dina.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,929
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    208
    Thanked in
    152 Posts

    Default

    You don't need 750W.

    Do you have a link to the barebones or at least the case/PSU used for it?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    You don't need 750W.

    Do you have a link to the barebones or at least the case/PSU used for it?
    Sure thing the build was so cheap i had to grab it.

    http://www.phanteks.com/Eclipse-P300-TemperedGlass.html


    Sorry this is the build https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...E&gclsrc=aw.ds

    But i ordered the extras that i posted in my main.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I guess im more concerned with reliability i dont want to fry the system, and it gets hot here and humid. AC dont always keep up.

    Another thing this will be windows 10 much as i hate it, I always had 7 or xp before, but someone told me win 10 uses much more power than win 7...was this guy bullshitting me lol

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,929
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    208
    Thanked in
    152 Posts

    Default

    Ok. Yeah, so you clearly only have a 160mm depth limitation. Definitely be aware of the PSU depth when shopping.

    The TX-M definitely fits, but again... you don't need 750W. If you look at good 500W~550W PSUs, you'll have a lot more options for a bit less money.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    RedNinja (06-19-2018)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Ok. Yeah, so you clearly only have a 160mm depth limitation. Definitely be aware of the PSU depth when shopping.

    The TX-M definitely fits, but again... you don't need 750W. If you look at good 500W~550W PSUs, you'll have a lot more options for a bit less money.
    You mean cheaper than that! Man i thought that was a steal, but i like the line maybe ill look at the 600/550 watt TX. But even if i addon a stand along gpu and faster ram, a few other things like that 370 motherboard 550 watts will handle that? I believe you i just want to make sure you know ill be upgrading things. Thanks!

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,929
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    208
    Thanked in
    152 Posts

    Default

    Yep. As long as you're not doing a VEGA64 or 1080 Ti, 550W is all you need.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    RedNinja (06-19-2018)

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    328
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    51
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Yep. As long as you're not doing a VEGA64 or 1080 Ti, 550W is all you need.

    Even a 1080Ti should be fine on 550w unless you are using HEDT, Exotic cooling or extreme workloads (AVX2 w/ high GPU usage)
    Just some nerd from 'Straya

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Yep. As long as you're not doing a VEGA64 or 1080 Ti, 550W is all you need.

    well you never know where this may go, this whole power and cpu gpu thing is fascinating. Oh i ordered the tx650m it was the same price as the 550, and well wiggle room cant hurt right? I may just get one piece at a time and build a dream rig, at least ill have the power for it

    I will definitely watch this site for important information from now on. Esp since i dont know jack about computers. Im learning.

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,899
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    108
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    44
    Thanked in
    38 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RedNinja View Post
    someone told me win 10 uses much more power than win 7...

    I thinketh not

Similar Threads

  1. Maybe they get this deal back in stock
    By ashiekh in forum Hot Deals
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-19-2017, 09:22 AM
  2. New or Old Stock BFG Tech PSU?
    By HangFire in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 06:11 PM
  3. i7 950 stock running hot !!! help plz
    By kayawish24 in forum CPU Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-11-2010, 09:24 AM
  4. 8800GT's in stock... AT MSRP!
    By danbfree in forum GPU Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-17-2007, 04:13 AM
  5. C2D with 500FSB stock volts!
    By Kab in forum CPU Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-19-2007, 07:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •