Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 114

Thread: Facing a strange issue with Corsair CX550

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,964
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    A 360W unit seems small

    Here is an old thread that might interest you
    http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3964
    Last edited by ashiekh; 05-16-2018 at 09:22 AM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    India
    Posts
    38
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    ^^From the above thread p12:
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain rainbow View Post
    I mean the inrush problem. Where PFC power supplies pull their full maximum capability for the first few secounds when the PC is turned on or when the UPS is changing state from grid power to battery power. Will a 600W UPS withstand a APFC 550W power supply with APFC of 0.95 at fill load or will it create an overload or shutdown condition for the UPS. Thank You.
    Quote Originally Posted by Behemot View Post
    As I already said, the spike occurs when the power supply is plugged into wall or turned on. It is by a magnitued higher than the maximum pulled power under normal operation.
    Is this the reason for my issue,my 600VA/360W UPS is inadequate for a 550W activePFC psu?I need some solid proof for this as there are no reasonably priced model between 600VA & 1000/1100VA models of APC/Cyberpower in my country & 1000VA models cost more than twice of 600VA models & all this for a desktop pc with Pentium G620(will upgrade to ryzen 1200/2200G) & 1050Ti(no plans of upgrading it) seems overkill.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,964
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whitestar_999 View Post
    Is this the reason for my issue,my 600VA/360W UPS is inadequate for a 550W activePFC psu?
    550W > 360W

    Roughly speaking W is about 55-60% of VA for many UPS units, so you will be needing a 1000VA unit to match a 550W power supply

    Quote Originally Posted by whitestar_999 View Post
    Mains power-->pure sine wave inverter(1400VA) with battery backup(a few hours)
    ...
    This issue also does not happen if I remove UPS & directly connect the system to pure sine wave inverter.
    You already have a 1400VA unit
    Last edited by ashiekh; 05-16-2018 at 12:14 PM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    India
    Posts
    38
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That I know but is it certain that an activePFC PSU requires a UPS considering only its max load(550W in my case) & not actual system load(less than 300W in my case) because if that is so then this surely needs to be a much better known fact. If @jonnyGURU can confirm this then I certainly will consider it as a fact while deciding to buy a new UPS in future.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,077
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    539
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    274
    Thanked in
    198 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whitestar_999 View Post
    If it is related to PSU hold up time then how come it works under low load condition,does hold up time varies with the load on psu.
    Of course it does. The more the load is on the PSU, the shorter the hold up time. Where do you think the power in those bulk caps go? Think they just stay charged up and sit there?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    India
    Posts
    38
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Of course it does. The more the load is on the PSU, the shorter the hold up time. Where do you think the power in those bulk caps go? Think they just stay charged up and sit there?
    Yeah,realized it a few minutes after posting that. Any comment on my previous post regarding activePFC psu+UPS requirement?If you can certify it then I will start saving money for a new 1000VA APC UPS.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,964
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    Here you will get thoughts and advice, but there are no guarantees.

    There are all sorts of things you could try, such as run the unit on another battery, even a car battery if desperate.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 05-16-2018 at 01:59 PM.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    India
    Posts
    38
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I know there are no guarantees but then this is not some subjective topic of discussion like picture or sound quality. All I want is some confirmation that activePFC psu draw their max rated power under even moderate system load condition(which may be much lower than psu max rated power) if there is a power cut & switchover is happening on UPS side. In fact such a confirmation will prove to be a significant factor for many users who may have to replace their UPS too because of buying a bigger psu just for "extra breathing space for some future need". I could have bought a CX450 but went for this model exactly for this reason. If I had known that it wouldn't work with my 600VA/360W UPS then I might not have bought it.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,964
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    Try the battery experiment, as you didn't see this issue early on.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    India
    Posts
    38
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Try the battery experiment, as you didn't see this issue early on.
    I already tested the system with sega 400W psu & turned mains/inverter power off & UPS was easily able to provide backup for 30 seconds(not tested beyond that) while video file was playing with gfx card usage ~66%.Under same situation with CX550 the system shuts down suddenly & completely.

Similar Threads

  1. Strange difference between Seasonic and Corsair PSU fans
    By danda821 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-14-2018, 09:11 AM
  2. Are Corsair CX450, CX550 and CX650 all the same platform?
    By jmcyang in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-12-2018, 10:49 PM
  3. Silverstone SST-ET550-G vs Corsair CX550
    By CrapXon in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-23-2017, 12:32 PM
  4. Corsair AX1200i has a strange model number written on
    By solomonshv in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-17-2016, 05:31 PM
  5. Hi! ...strange issue with an Antec!
    By heinz357 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-19-2012, 11:15 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •