Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: ATX PSU with DC/DC for industrial use + Corsair link question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    348
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    14
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default ATX PSU with DC/DC for industrial use + Corsair link question

    Hi, I service industrial machines and one of the particularities one industrial PC manufacturer has decided to do is modify an ATX PSU to be used without soft-start and without 3.3v.
    When they have failed in the past I have replaced them with FSP AT PSU's, the obvious advantage is the always on switch, and no 3.3v present and the fact they have -5v (The PC has ISA slots).
    Unfortunately it's not really feasible to buy AT PSU's anymore, and today I needed a PSU on the spot so I bought what was available locally this evening and having DC-DC, that happened to be a Corsair RM650i.
    I'm sure it will be happy powering a P3 1266Mhz machine

    The reason I want DC-DC is because the 3.3v rail will be completely unloaded.
    But I have just one question about the fan, if I configure it using Corsair Link to be on will that be a permanent setting, or will it default to being off when the PSU is power cycled?
    (I just have my laptop with me so can't hook it up to a system with the included cable...)

    The PSU looks really nice, I like the fact that it has all Japanese caps, should last a long long time in this environment.
    I've attached a pic of the old PSU, you can also have a look here at an older failure that was replaced with an AT PSU, it has some more details on the fantastic rebuild done to it :P
    https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...postcount=1039
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,495
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    499
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    39
    Thanked in
    31 Posts

    Default

    If the PSU loses AC power, the LINK settings are reset.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You need to use SIV64 if you want to keep the fan settings if AC power is lost.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,591
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    61
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    5
    Thanked in
    5 Posts

    Default

    Recap the old supply and have a spare for next time that should outlive the original. How did it stay so clean?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,495
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    499
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    39
    Thanked in
    31 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrapXon View Post
    You need to use SIV64 if you want to keep the fan settings if AC power is lost.
    No. That's incorrect. Think about what you're saying.

    The PSU has no flash to store settings without AC power. So how is SIV going to keep the settings when. LINK cannot?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    No. That's incorrect. Think about what you're saying.

    The PSU has no flash to store settings without AC power. So how is SIV going to keep the settings when. LINK cannot?
    I've tried and it does, well, maybe when windows starts it activates the fan. Not kept in the PSU itself but applied automatically each time you start windows.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    348
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    14
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    The info about SIV might be useful, the industrial system runs Windows 2000 so Corsair Link is out of the question...
    But SIV does have a current Win2K release I see, probably still requires the USB driver though, which might not be supported anyway.
    The reason I want the fan running is there will be very little clearance for it against the case. (It was designed for a rear mounted 80mm fan).
    So probably in "zero RPM mode" the heat will just build up: then the fan will run for a short while, and then turn off again: so the PSU will basically be heat cycled continously.

    Failing that just a question: if I where to put something pushing the "fan test" button down permanently would that confuse the fan controller or will it still work fine?
    "The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,495
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    499
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    39
    Thanked in
    31 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrapXon View Post
    I've tried and it does, well, maybe when windows starts it activates the fan. Not kept in the PSU itself but applied automatically each time you start windows.
    Right... when Windows starts. LINK and SIV does this.

    The issue was: What can keep the fan running if there's a loss of AC power and NO software is running to dictate fan speed? The answer is: None. Due to a hardware limitation.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    348
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    14
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    Thanks JG, any idea about the question at the end of my post above?
    "The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    348
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    14
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    Had to mod the case a bit, the PSU is 160mm and I didn't measure first, there is only 154mm room max...
    It works all fine now though

    Any ideas about a PSU fitting these specs?
    Max 154mm
    Japanese capacitors
    DC-DC (only really needed for 3.3v as that will be completely unused)
    Preferrably 80mm fan
    Preferrably modular to ease the removal of 3.3v wires, 5VSB and earthing of the start cable.

    So far I've found Seasonic SE, seems perfect: http://www2.seasonic.com/product/ssp...active-pfc-f3/
    Looks discontinued though?
    There is also ST, uses a 120mm fan though, but also has DC-DC for 3.3v
    And RT & GT, 120mm fan and DC-DC for both 5v & 3.3v

    Maybe something like Seasonic G-series would fit the bill too?
    Not modular 24-pin cable though (none of the supplies I've listed are)

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Recap the old supply and have a spare for next time that should outlive the original. How did it stay so clean?
    Yes I probably will recap it. (It uses jPce-TUR caps which I think are made by CEC and just general purpose, yuck!).
    Usually the fan fails with complete baking of the PSU as a result, this one fared much better.
    About the dust it differs allot from factory to factory, this place was simply very clean...
    Last edited by Per Hansson; 02-15-2018 at 06:55 AM.
    "The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."

Similar Threads

  1. Corsair AX860i, corsair link dongle blinking from green to red.
    By sblantipodi in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-17-2016, 09:16 PM
  2. Corsair RM750i Corsair link precision
    By ibanez89 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-28-2016, 03:45 AM
  3. Corsair Link XP screw up
    By Behemot in forum General Software
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-05-2016, 12:39 PM
  4. Corsair Link Question
    By Stormchaser in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-27-2016, 11:37 AM
  5. Corsair Link and RM650i fan
    By quest for silence in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-14-2015, 11:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •