Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: does cpu,gpu uses 5v rail also?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    india
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default does cpu,gpu uses 5v rail also?

    I have a 450wPSU rated 132W at 12v rail and 40w at 5v rail
    my cpu TDP is 54W and Gpu TDP is 100W
    my system is runiing perfectly but according to the fact that cpu,gpu uses 12v rail only my 12v rail is insufficient to provide 154w combined.So how how is my system up and running?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,280
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    375
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    93
    Thanked in
    74 Posts

    Default

    You can't have a 450W PSU if the PSU only can deliver 11A at the 12V and 8A at the 5V. If those numbers are right, you have a ~175W PSU.

    Can you post which PSU you have and maybe make some pictures from the PSU and the label, that would probably clear things up.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    328
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    51
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    Sounds like some strange "multi rail" 450w PSU, 4x11A + 5V and 3.3V...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,941
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    214
    Thanked in
    156 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sid15762 View Post
    I have a 450wPSU rated 132W at 12v rail and 40w at 5v rail
    my cpu TDP is 54W and Gpu TDP is 100W
    my system is runiing perfectly but according to the fact that cpu,gpu uses 12v rail only my 12v rail is insufficient to provide 154w combined.So how how is my system up and running?
    That doesn't sound right. Even a cheap PSU masquerading as a 450W wouldn't just have 132W on the +12V rail.

    Can you take a picture of the label and attach it to your post?

    Maybe type in ALL of the information on the PSU if you can't take a picture?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    380
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    He posted a picture of the power supply on another forum (linustechtips) but he removed the post so I don't have it anymore.

    But if I remember correctly it was iBall ZPS-281 : https://www.amazon.in/iBall-Computer...dp/B01EN9LFLQ/

    They're fakely advertised as maximum output 450w, for example this other similar model: https://www.amazon.in/iBall-SMPS-Com.../dp/B0119ZM12E

    It was indeed listing only 11 A at 12v on the label and I told him it's junk.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,941
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    214
    Thanked in
    156 Posts

    Default

    Wow!

    Yeah.. That PSU is a total scam. Hope he knows to replace it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    684
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    20
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Ugh. Brings me back to the "distant" past when I was using those crap TT ATX1.3 PSUs that were grossly overrated and sold as ATX2.0 ones. It's probably already cooking his components as he is using it.

    Rig 1: Core i5 6600K - Asus Z170 Pro Gaming - Corsair Vengeance 16GB PC2666 RAM - MSI GeForce GTX1070 - Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD + 2TB Seagate SSHD - Corsair RM550x - Fractal Design R5 - Win10 64

    Rig 2: Ryzen 1700X @ 3.9 GHz - Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5 - Corsair LPX 16GB PC3200 RAM - Gigabyte GeForce 1070 - 250GB Samsung EVO 850 SSD - Corsair RM650i - Win10 64
    HTPC: AMD A6-6400k - MSI FM2-A75IA-E53 mITX - 8GB Kingston HyperX 1866MHz - 3.5TB storage - Silver Power 460W passive - CM Elite 120

  8. #8
    Magic Smoke is offline If you see me than you did something wrong
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Null
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That iball PSU reminds me of the Hercules PSUs my parents would buy to replace the broken PSU in their PC. They would always fail after 2 years.

Similar Threads

  1. -12V rail?
    By jamason56 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-09-2009, 02:30 PM
  2. PSU with decent 3.3/5v rail?
    By NLight95 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-06-2008, 01:10 PM
  3. how to get 15v off a 12v rail?
    By amandpm in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-09-2007, 12:17 AM
  4. +12V Rail vs +5V Rail and Split Rails
    By farfromhome in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-01-2007, 10:52 PM
  5. +12.8V Rail?
    By Hutch in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-28-2007, 04:54 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •