Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 49

Thread: New Corsair AX1600i starts to show up

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    348
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    14
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    ^^And the reason is that without PFC you instead need a voltage doubler circuit.
    Which means you need two bulk filtering caps.
    And either a mechanical switch to set 115v or 230v operation; or a relay.
    None of these components are very cheap

    And the advantage is not only full range input.
    But the removal of the switch means less RMA's.
    Because the customer can't set it incorrectly and blow up the PSU...
    "The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    226
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    95
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    @ Per Hansson
    Those "^^" sign made me a confussion in the first post, believing you replied to Jonny, and I'm thinked it was missinterpreted with my first post (and I didn't readed carefully your). It's not simpler just to make a quote? If you answer me at a question wich is 10 posts above your you would need to put ten of this "^" (just asking)

    Quote Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
    ^^And the reason is that without PFC you instead need a voltage doubler circuit.
    Which means you need two bulk filtering caps.
    And either a mechanical switch to set 115v or 230v operation; or a relay.
    None of these components are very cheap

    And the advantage is not only full range input.
    But the removal of the switch means less RMA's.
    Because the customer can't set it incorrectly and blow up the PSU...
    Yep.

    I can't immagine how it would be if a entire cheapish low quality PSU batch would come with a misslabeled switch position where the 230V position of the switch would be in fact the 110V position.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    348
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    14
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    You're over interpreting the meaning of my little arrow
    I never quote when I reply to the post directly prior, I could stop with the arrow though :P
    "The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,582
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    506
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    58
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

  5. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    -The_Mask- (01-08-2018), Al3xand3r (01-09-2018), breixobaloca (01-08-2018), Philipus II (01-08-2018)

  6. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,525
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    178
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    5
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Tom's review is also up. You really got me there. Two reviews in less than two weeks

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...-psu,5406.html

  7. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to crmaris For This Useful Post:

    -The_Mask- (01-08-2018), Al3xand3r (01-09-2018), breixobaloca (01-08-2018), Philipus II (01-08-2018)

  8. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,655
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    70
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    "...while improving overall efficiency to over 99%..."; beyond impressive.

  9. #37
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,123
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    367
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    29
    Thanked in
    29 Posts

    Default

    Cable caps?

  10. #38
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,582
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    506
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    58
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    Cable caps?
    Afraid so.

  11. #39
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,123
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    367
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    29
    Thanked in
    29 Posts

    Default

    What's the ripple without those caps?

  12. #40
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,447
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    19
    Thanked in
    17 Posts

    Default

    I think those Caps are more for EMV and to rectify the things MoBo and GPU manufacturers do.

Similar Threads

  1. Corsair AX1600i Review
    By Oklahoma Wolf in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-15-2018, 11:58 PM
  2. Corsair RMx 2018 starts to show up
    By -The_Mask- in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-05-2018, 04:02 PM
  3. Riotoro Builder series starts to show up (probably) with DC-DC
    By -The_Mask- in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-05-2018, 03:26 PM
  4. New Corsair CX non modular starts to show up in webstores in Europe
    By -The_Mask- in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 85
    Last Post: 11-16-2017, 04:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •