Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: I hope this CPU works! Socket AM3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,089
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    540
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    275
    Thanked in
    199 Posts

    Default I hope this CPU works! Socket AM3

    Mom's got a Compaq with an AM3 socket board. In it is an Athlon II 170u (2GHz).

    Found an outfit in Korea on eBay selling tons of X4 640's (3GHz) for $25 + free shipping. My guess is a gray market offload from some big Korean SI.

    Also AM3, of course, but also 95W so I assume it should work.

    I understand the higher TDP CPUs don't work well in this board.

    Funny thing about this board... It's an Asus M2N68-LA. Apparently made just for Compaq. There's an Asus M2N68 variants, but not with the "LA". Also with different sockets (AM2+, for example). Hopefully I won't need a BIOS update as I can't find one anywhere. Not even HP/Compaq's website.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,327
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    379
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    106
    Thanked in
    82 Posts

    Default

    It should work, but I would recommend a top down cooler for cooling the VRM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,088
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    414
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    25
    Thanked in
    18 Posts

    Default

    The Athlon II 170u & X4 640 were both released at the same time (May 2010) on the C3 revision of their 45nm node for the K10.5 architecture and both use the same AGESA Microcode.

    So you should be able to slap the chip in without too much trouble. I would go with what Mask says and definitely get a down-draft cooler for the chip. Probably an AM3 Wraith if you can. You can get a used Wraith for $20-25 shipped, generally labeled as "used" but many are basically BNIB and were never taken out of the packaging.

    If you have anything like Enzotech Mos-C1's laying around you could slap them on the VRMs as well to help out.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,967
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    I run Windows 10 (free update from Windows 7); does anyone know how much one can upgrade without losing the license?

    I upgraded an Intel machine from a Core 2 Duo to a Quad and that lost me the license; would the same apply to this discussion?

    I also have a Dell Inspiron 570 with an Athlon II in it, and would be nice to upgrade that to a Phenom II
    Last edited by ashiekh; 12-31-2017 at 12:20 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,327
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    379
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    106
    Thanked in
    82 Posts

    Default

    With only a CPU change you should be able to use the same license code if you need to reactivate. But when you change the motherboard it most likely won't work.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,089
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    540
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    275
    Thanked in
    199 Posts

    Default

    Yeah. Pretty sure the license doesn't look at the CPU. I've changed many in the same board. But once you changed the board... goodbye license (well... you call the 1-800 number and explain, but you know what I mean).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,967
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    As I mentioned, I had a license issue when moving from 2 core to 4 core; I got lucky when replacing a Dell mother-board by giving the new board the same Service Tag as the old.

    I don't use a license code as it is "activated with a digital license" and that might make a difference.
    Last edited by ashiekh; 12-31-2017 at 03:39 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,089
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    540
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    275
    Thanked in
    199 Posts

    Default

    Really? That's surprising. Sure nothing else changed? We change CPU all the time at work and keep the same SSD with the same Windows install.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    1,967
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    114
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    55
    Thanked in
    48 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Really? That's surprising. Sure nothing else changed? We change CPU all the time at work and keep the same SSD with the same Windows install.
    Well, you can tell us what happens when you move the Athlon II from dual to quad; I'd go for a Phenom II myself, maybe an X6
    Last edited by ashiekh; 12-31-2017 at 07:56 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,088
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    414
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    25
    Thanked in
    18 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
    Well, you can tell us what happens when you move the Athlon II from dual to quad; I'd go for a Phenom II myself, maybe an X6
    That board doesn't have the VRM to handle a Phenom II x6. Maybe not even an x4 as it's a super low end board that was also stripped down some.

Similar Threads

  1. New member and hope for fun and help here
    By Arabicuser in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-01-2013, 01:12 AM
  2. Do i have enough power? (i sure hope so LOL)
    By Spawne32 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-21-2007, 12:49 AM
  3. I hope someone can clear this up for me...
    By fugue in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-09-2007, 04:07 AM
  4. A new hope...
    By Terru in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-20-2006, 05:02 PM
  5. What's in the works for November
    By Jon Gerow in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 11-12-2006, 03:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •