Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Corsair VS650

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Unhappy Corsair VS650

    Is that PSU good enough for my GeForce GTX 1080 8gb armor oc gpu? I am running that with i7-6700 @ 3.40GHz, but still I get some fps drops on a game as "counter-strike: global offensive". And my game isn't smooth as it should be, I am running 144hz, I have about 200-300 fps, but it still feels unsmooth, as if I was playing with 80hz..

    Windows 10 Home (64bit)
    I7-6700 - 3.40 GHz. (I don't think this processor can be overclocked(one of my friends told me that).
    Nvidia GeForce 1080 8gb armor oc(Did not do anything with overclocking, as I have no knowledge about it at all).
    16 GB Ram
    ASUS Z170-P Motherboard.
    Power supply - Corsair VS650

    Thank you guys!

  2. #2
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Just a side note.

    Broadly speaking, the Corsair VS650 (even the fresh released new ones) is not a good power supply, rather a basic one, so I wouldn't use it with such expensive hardware as you have.

    Said that, what you reported doesn't look like to me a manifest PSU problem: it might, but it might not (I hope more experienced users may come and help you better).
    Best, Luca

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,282
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    375
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    94
    Thanked in
    75 Posts

    Default

    A PSU doesn't have any influence at your frame rate.

    Does your monitor have a fps counter in OSD? So you can see what the real refresh rate is.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    698
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    476
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    Do you have those problems EXACTLY since you updated to Creators Update?

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to breixobaloca For This Useful Post:

    method (05-06-2017)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by breixobaloca View Post
    Do you have those problems EXACTLY since you updated to Creators Update?
    Actually no, I've had this problem ever since I purchased the computer..

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    A PSU doesn't have any influence at your frame rate.

    Does your monitor have a fps counter in OSD? So you can see what the real refresh rate is.
    My monitor does not have fps counter.. I have a benq XL2411 and that option isn't available.. Refresh rate is 144.

    BUT, the problem fixes if I am playing offline vs bots.. But as soon as I connect to some public servers, or just any server with other people on it, it causes me to get fps drops, and screen doesnt feel like its on 144hz anymore, feels more like its below that 100hz(thats how it LOOKS, but it is on 144hz.)

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,946
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    215
    Thanked in
    157 Posts

    Default

    LOL! This isn't a PSU issue.

    If the problem varies from local to network play, then the problem could be as simple as the NIC. Either the Realtek RTL8111H drivers, a bad chipset or a defect in that LANGuard gimmick.

    Easiest way to troubleshoot, if you haven't already tried different drivers, is to pop in a NIC card (I know that's redundant) and try again.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    LOL! This isn't a PSU issue.

    If the problem varies from local to network play, then the problem could be as simple as the NIC. Either the Realtek RTL8111H drivers, a bad chipset or a defect in that LANGuard gimmick.

    Easiest way to troubleshoot, if you haven't already tried different drivers, is to pop in a NIC card (I know that's redundant) and try again.
    Oh okay, thank you! I will definitely try this option!

Similar Threads

  1. Refurbished Corsair VS650 for 35€
    By Ferotion in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-24-2018, 06:16 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-26-2018, 06:31 PM
  3. Corsair AX860i, corsair link dongle blinking from green to red.
    By sblantipodi in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-17-2016, 09:16 PM
  4. Corsair VS650, should I replace it?
    By camidekipapaz in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 05-11-2015, 11:08 AM
  5. Help me decide - Antec Blue 650w vs Corsair HX620 vs Corsair VX550
    By Gryph0n in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-06-2007, 05:48 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •