Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: COUGAR VTE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    206
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    177
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default COUGAR VTE

    Interesting, they claim to have DC-DC conversion, but only for the +3.3 V rail. Seasonic uses this type of design on ST.

    http://cougargaming.com/products/psus/vte/

    Infos/comments are welcome.
    Last edited by Internet; 04-15-2017 at 09:38 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Germany, Berlin
    Posts
    1,598
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    959
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    16
    Thanked in
    14 Posts

    Default

    This model is not available in Europe and also won't be in the future from what I know.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,945
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    215
    Thanked in
    157 Posts

    Default

    Why? Not ErP Lot 6 2013 compliant or just didn't want to pay for the certs?

    Speaking of certs: TÜV is going to start requiring the cert number with the logo on the product. Too many people were using the TÜV logo, but not having an actual cert. So now they want the cert number on their so it can point back to either the brand or the actual OEM.

  4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    breixobaloca (04-16-2017), Orion (04-16-2017), quest for silence (04-16-2017)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    974
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    325
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    9 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Speaking of certs: TÜV is going to start requiring the cert number with the logo on the product.
    FINALLY...

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Żuromin
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Seriously it can be dc/dc for only one minor 3,3V? Always i was thinking, that dc/dc is only for 5V + 3,3V and only +12V is create ahead transformer in circuit.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,700
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    116
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Seasonic ECO/XFX TS 430 has that kind of solution IIRC.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    698
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    476
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Why? Not ErP Lot 6 2013 compliant or just didn't want to pay for the certs?

    Speaking of certs: TÜV is going to start requiring the cert number with the logo on the product. Too many people were using the TÜV logo, but not having an actual cert. So now they want the cert number on their so it can point back to either the brand or the actual OEM.
    Any news link? Thanks

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,945
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    528
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    215
    Thanked in
    157 Posts

    Default

    No. Just what I've been instructed to put on the labels of products moving forward.


  10. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    206
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    177
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philipus II View Post
    This model is not available in Europe and also won't be in the future from what I know.
    Well, apparently they're interested in trying to sell these units here in Brazil.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dingir View Post
    Seriously it can be dc/dc for only one minor 3,3V? Always i was thinking, that dc/dc is only for 5V + 3,3V and only +12V is create ahead transformer in circuit.
    It's perfectly possible.

    You generate +3,3 V through the DC converter. But the +5 V and +12 V rails remain group regulated. As I said in the OP, this is what Seasonic uses on the "ST" platform, aka ECO-430 and S12II-350.

Similar Threads

  1. Cougar CMX v2
    By Philipus II in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-20-2014, 07:46 PM
  2. Cougar PSU's
    By HavoCnMe in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2010, 01:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •