Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: APC BackUPS Pro. Upgrading my UPS or not. This is the problem.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    localhost and Italy
    Posts
    316
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    11
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default APC BackUPS Pro. Upgrading my UPS or not. This is the problem.

    Hi all,
    I'm just planning to upgrade my GTX980 Ti SLI to a GTX1080 Ti SLI, I say this because those newer cards will eat approximately 60W more than the previous one.

    At the moment the maximum load on my PSU (AX860i series, waiting for upgrading it) with both cards maxed out and CPU maxed out is of 700W.
    Consider a 10% efficiency, the monitor and the NAS and it's easy that my UPS is loaded with 810W.

    The UPS is question is an APC BackUPS Pro BR1500GI 865W/1500VA with a fresh new genuine battery.



    I have done some testing and differently from what APC says, this UPS is not able to handle a blackout if the load of my peripherals is greater than 800W.
    At 800W or less it always handle a blackout for some minutes, at 810W it never handle the blackout, the PC is shutted down immediately.

    I bought the UPS to save my work in case of AC problems, fortunantly the UPS is able to handle the load of my PC at work since while working I never go over 800W.

    But what happen if there is a blackout while gaming and pushing hard up to 810W?
    The PC shutdown (and no one will cry since I was only gaming) but what about PC components?

    Can UPS damage the PSU or other components since it isn't able to handle the blackout?

    I'm in doubt if upgrade my UPS or not...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,516
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    502
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    46
    Thanked in
    36 Posts

    Default

    All your parts die. Just like that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    localhost and Italy
    Posts
    316
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    11
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    All your parts die. Just like that.
    don't get it, probably a language barrier, sorry.
    what do you mean for die? shut down or be damaged?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,516
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    502
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    46
    Thanked in
    36 Posts

    Default

    Actually... I'm just kidding. With a good PSU, your parts are fine. Simply cutting power to your parts means nothing to your parts. As far as they're concerned, you just turned the PC off. They just stop working. It's just your data that gets corrupted because it's not properly written to memory.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    localhost and Italy
    Posts
    316
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    11
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Actually... I'm just kidding. With a good PSU, your parts are fine. Simply cutting power to your parts means nothing to your parts. As far as they're concerned, you just turned the PC off. They just stop working. It's just your data that gets corrupted because it's not properly written to memory.
    ah ok
    my important data is on a NAS and are not written while gaming, so I'm ok.
    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    780
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    26
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sblantipodi View Post
    ah ok
    my important data is on a NAS and are not written while gaming, so I'm ok.
    thanks
    That's like the second worst way of backing up "Important data". A NAS without any external redundancy.

  7. #7
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
    A NAS without any external redundancy.
    A NAS backed up by another NAS? Jeez...
    Best, Luca

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    localhost and Italy
    Posts
    316
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    11
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
    That's like the second worst way of backing up "Important data". A NAS without any external redundancy.
    NAS has Raid 1 redudancy, I don't need more secure

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    780
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    26
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quest for silence View Post
    A NAS backed up by another NAS? Jeez...
    You should research and see how big corporations backup data. It's obviously excessive for a single person, but you can take some steps from them.

    Quote Originally Posted by sblantipodi View Post
    NAS has Raid 1 redudancy, I don't need more secure
    Raid is not backup. It's redundancy. What happens if you have a fire? What happens if the raid controller goes? What happens if you accidently delete a file? Raid only protects against one thing.

    Cheap and easy way to backup, encrypt your data and upload it to the cloud (Google drive, backblaze, ACS, etc etc).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,252
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    864
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    I pay $60 for off-site backup. Why? I have a lot of photographs, a lot of RAW. I got pushed into this by reading about ransomeware. I'm not the only person using my homenet and ransomeware can pop up anywhere. Anything connected can be encrypted, including NAS. This is why I consider $60/year to be a good investment. YMMV.
    CPU: Core i7 8700k, HT enabled, all 6 cores OC'd to 4.8GHz, Vcore = 1.24v
    Heatsink: Noctua NH-D15 with one NF-A15 1500 RPM PWM fan
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z370X Aorus Gaming 7
    RAM: 4x16GB (64GB) Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 RAM 16-18-18-36@3200MHz, Vdimm = 1.35v
    GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 DirectX 12 with 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X
    SSD1: Samsung 840 EVO 500GB TLC; SSD2: SAMSUNG 860 EVO 1TB 3-bit MLC
    HD: WD 500GB (old); Case: LIAN LI PC-7H Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum 660W

Similar Threads

  1. Good UPS for Corsair AX860i, my APC BackUPS PRO 1500VA is not enough.
    By sblantipodi in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 03-18-2016, 03:01 PM
  2. AX860 on APC BackUPS PRO BR1500, it switch to battery when I power off the PC.
    By sblantipodi in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 12-25-2014, 08:09 AM
  3. Upgrading my computer
    By Black hawk in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-26-2010, 12:21 AM
  4. Upgrading PSU soon
    By maxusmag in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-04-2008, 08:40 AM
  5. upgrading my ram?
    By albacore in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-16-2007, 08:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •