Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Probably a stupid question but...(kabylake)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    9
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Probably a stupid question but...(kabylake)

    Apologies I realise this is probably a stupid question to some but you don't learn unless you ask.

    I am building a PC for a family member. I have a gigabyte H110-S2. This has the h110 chipset. I was about to order the G4400 to go with it but notice scan now have the kabylake G4560 for £10 more. So it seems a no brainer to get that instead.

    Now I know gigabyte have released a bios update to support Kabylake but can I apply this update via Q-Flash with the G4560 already installed?

    If not I'll have to go with the G4400. Just seems a shame when the next gen is available for so little extra.

    Again apologies if you think it's a daft question.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,105
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    416
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    23 Posts

    Default

    Your board would need to support Q-Flash Plus in order to update the BIOS without a CPU.

    So you're stuck with getting the G4400; though, the difference between Skylake & Kaby Lake is not huge. There is only a 200mhz difference so you're not missing out on much.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Tator Tot For This Useful Post:

    Jerri1240 (01-12-2017)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    9
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tator Tot View Post
    Your board would need to support Q-Flash Plus in order to update the BIOS without a CPU.

    So you're stuck with getting the G4400; though, the difference between Skylake & Kaby Lake is not huge. There is only a 200mhz difference so you're not missing out on much.
    Thanks. Much appreciated.

    I thought hyper threading was basically what made the G4560 a better purchase than the G4400 but I suppose on a basic office/iTunes/browsing machine it doesn't make much difference.

    I thought it worth asking since the kabylake is only a few £ more.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,105
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    416
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    23 Posts

    Default

    Unless they're going to be working with some really large files or converting a ton of music, it won't make a huge difference.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,444
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    382
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    133
    Thanked in
    104 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tator Tot View Post
    .

    So you're stuck with getting the G4400; though, the difference between Skylake & Kaby Lake is not huge. There is only a 200mhz difference so you're not missing out on much.
    That doesn't apply for the Pentiums, the differences there is much bigger because of HT.

    Can't you ask the store to flash the new firmware or ask a motherboard with a new firmware with Kaby Lake support.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to -The_Mask- For This Useful Post:

    Jerri1240 (01-13-2017)

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    9
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    That doesn't apply for the Pentiums, the differences there is much bigger because of HT.

    Can't you ask the store to flash the new firmware or ask a motherboard with a new firmware with Kaby Lake support.
    I'll call them today and ask. Have also sent an email to gigabyte to see how long it takes for it to be sent to them to flash.

    The motherboards already with kabylake support are £30 more so not an option. Especially when I already have the motherboard.

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    9
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Scan would charge £12 plus p&p to them and back to update the bios. Will see if any local shops can do it.

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    780
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    26
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jerri1240 View Post
    Scan would charge £12 plus p&p to them and back to update the bios. Will see if any local shops can do it.
    You don't have a friend with any skylake based pc? Maybe try a UK based hardwareswap? Here in Canada someone would be happy to help you for the price of a coffee... Maybe there you can get him fish and chips?

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    9
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
    You don't have a friend with any skylake based pc? Maybe try a UK based hardwareswap? Here in Canada someone would be happy to help you for the price of a coffee... Maybe there you can get him fish and chips?
    I don't!

    I actually don't know anyone else with a desktop PC or laptop. All my friends and family have tablets these days.

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    9
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Non of the local shops seemed to even have a clue what I was on about let alone say they'd be able to do it.

    Looks like I'm stuck with the G4400 unless I can convince my uncle to shell out the extra for the kabylake motherboard.

Similar Threads

  1. [Stupid question] Can i connect 2 CPU cables on this PSU?
    By Gigi86 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-23-2018, 12:30 PM
  2. Stupid electrical math question
    By Jon Gerow in forum Electronic Theory and Principle
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 08-18-2018, 09:33 PM
  3. Stupid RMA's
    By 370forlife in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-01-2009, 04:42 AM
  4. Quick, stupid, repetitive....."Will this PS work for me?" question...
    By C'DaleRider in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-04-2009, 10:40 AM
  5. ,,Stupid,, question.
    By Oranje in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-23-2007, 04:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •