Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: How much of a risk am I taking? (Apevia PSU)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    ds
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Unhappy How much of a risk am I taking? (Apevia PSU)

    I have a PSU that is branded "Xtremegear". It's model number is an ATX-CB700W which pulls up an Apevia unit. On the side label it states that it features 2 12V rails, one at 30A and another at 28A, for a combined output of 528W with 44A. The total unit is rated for 700W.

    Now when I look up this PSU, it states that the 12V rails are 23 and 26A. (I don't know how to calculate the combined output).

    In my old PC, I have used this PSU with absolutely zero problems. It had a Phenom II X6 (125W) (with DDR3 and 2 HDDs) with an ATI 5770 (6 Pin). I ordered a new build last week with a Skylake 6600 (65W) (with DDR4 and 3 HDDs) and an RX480 (8Pin). I assume the load is going to be similar and that even though this is a sketchy PSU, it should be able to handle it fine.

    Now I know I need to replace this unit as soon as possible. But I was wondering if it would be okay to run it a couple weeks until I can get a new one in?

    http://www.apevia.com/ProductsInfo.asp?KEY=ATX-CB700W
    Last edited by nonya24; 12-26-2016 at 04:52 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,028
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    408
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    8
    Thanked in
    5 Posts

    Default

    That's a unit with a -5v rail, which means it's a design that predates the modern ATX 12v Ver2.x design guide.

    Essentially, it needs to go to your local electronics recycle center and you need to get a unit. Even if it was half decent for it's time, it's not designed to power a modern 12v heavy system.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Tator Tot For This Useful Post:

    Philipus II (12-26-2016)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    ds
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tator Tot View Post
    That's a unit with a -5v rail, which means it's a design that predates the modern ATX 12v Ver2.x design guide.

    Essentially, it needs to go to your local electronics recycle center and you need to get a unit. Even if it was half decent for it's time, it's not designed to power a modern 12v heavy system.
    So you are saying even using it for 2 days until I can get a new one would be a bad idea?

    What is your opinion of the EVGA 500 W1? My load will be
    Intel i5-6600
    B150 Chipset
    RX480
    2 DDR4 DIMMs
    2 Hard Drives
    1 SSD

  5. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,028
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    408
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    8
    Thanked in
    5 Posts

    Default

    I personally wouldn't, without any information on the condition of the parts inside, and knowing how old and poor the design could be; I would rather wait and get a decent new unit.

    Where are you shopping at? There are plenty of way better units for only a few dollars more.
    EVGA's W1 units are just not very good, especially when something like the Antec VP-**F line, Corsair CX*50M, and others exist for only ~$5 USD more per unit.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    ds
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tator Tot View Post
    I personally wouldn't, without any information on the condition of the parts inside, and knowing how old and poor the design could be; I would rather wait and get a decent new unit.

    Where are you shopping at? There are plenty of way better units for only a few dollars more.
    EVGA's W1 units are just not very good, especially when something like the Antec VP-**F line, Corsair CX*50M, and others exist for only ~$5 USD more per unit.
    Amazon. I've always heard the CX series was poor quality.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,502
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    148
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nonya24 View Post
    I've always heard the CX series was poor quality.
    CX units are nothing special performance wise, but are nowhere near junk status as quite a few people around the net seem to want to believe. Especially the newer 40 degree rated ones.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    690
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    468
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nonya24 View Post
    Amazon. I've always heard the CX series was poor quality.
    CX series were recently renewed with better quality and performance models, which are so far from the older ones.

    Which amazon do you buy at? .com, I suppose?

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    America's Wang
    Posts
    325
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    146
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I've seen better crap out there than apevia, (even my 11 year old Thermaltake full of teapo's is higher quality than that)
    If you are on a tight budget

    Corsair CX450 is a great choice, cheap but very good.

    If you find a CX430 which you probably can cause it's old stock, you can use it but you need to keep the temps as low as possible under 30 degrees celsius.
    ....

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    689
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    31
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nonya24 View Post
    So you are saying even using it for 2 days until I can get a new one would be a bad idea?

    What is your opinion of the EVGA 500 W1? My load will be
    Intel i5-6600
    B150 Chipset
    RX480
    2 DDR4 DIMMs
    2 Hard Drives
    1 SSD
    Dont do it. Even for an hour. Thats a nasty unit.

    EVGA W1 are OKish units, but i wouldnt buy it.

    Get one of the following:

    Seasonic ECO 430W / S12II 430W;

    Corsair CX450M; Corsair Vengeance 400W;

    Antec VPF 450W.

    You can find all those units bellow 55€.

    The older CX 430W / 500W are poor choices. The new CXM are much better.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    ds
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Delter View Post
    Dont do it. Even for an hour. Thats a nasty unit.

    EVGA W1 are OKish units, but i wouldnt buy it.

    Get one of the following:

    Seasonic ECO 430W / S12II 430W;

    Corsair CX450M; Corsair Vengeance 400W;

    Antec VPF 450W.

    You can find all those units bellow 55€.

    The older CX 430W / 500W are poor choices. The new CXM are much better.
    Well I couldn't resist putting it together and running it today. Everything functioned fine, but I noticed buzzing when the GPU was stressed. So I'm going to wait for a new PSU before using it again.

    I can get the EVGA one for $32 with prime shipping. The ones you mentioned don't have prime. The best buy here has a thermal take smart 650w and a thermal take tr2 430w. Are either of those decent?

Similar Threads

  1. Any risk cause by voltage drop from 220v to 190v?
    By Testakraze in forum Electronic Theory and Principle
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-22-2017, 06:29 PM
  2. would you risk running a gtx680 with a CX430?
    By cannondale06 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 04-27-2012, 11:51 AM
  3. GeIL Taking on the PSU Biz with new brand name
    By Tator Tot in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 10-18-2010, 11:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •