Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: The All Purpose SunMoon Retirement Thread

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,503
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    148
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by asf14tomcat View Post
    btw: sunmon and fastauto ATE have sens remote for measure voltage directly on test fixture ?( except voltdrop in cable connect between ATE and test fixture )
    Not on the front panel - you'd have to pull off the connector board and fiddle with the insides.

    Vdroop doesn't matter - those doubled up 10 gauge wires will keep that minimal, and I don't use the front panel for measurements anyway.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,503
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    148
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    First 1500W run with the new load tester. 31.25A x4 on the 12V load banks, and the load tester just laughed it off.

    So did the 10 gauge wires - they didn't even get warm. I no longer plan to add secondary wires to 12V3 and 12V4.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,228
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    374
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    71
    Thanked in
    61 Posts

    Default

    No voltage drop in the wires?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,503
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    148
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Minimal in the doubled up 10 gauge connections, and a bit more in the single 10s. I'd have to significantly modify the Fastauto and get the sense wires run to the breakout board itself to get accurate voltage readings at the load tester, but I will say things are reading more accurately now than they ever were with the two SunMoons.

    Binding posts on the load tester make one heck of a difference. No more having to change connectors on the load testers every so often due to burnout.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,228
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    374
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    71
    Thanked in
    61 Posts

    Default

    You're using the voltage readings from the Fast Auto and not from a multi meter? (Just asking)
    Voltage drop in the wires also means that you measure a lower efficiency then true efficiency, right?

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,503
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    148
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    No readings from the Fastauto are used - I use a TrueRMS Extech DMM at the breakout board where units are plugged in as I did with the Sunmoons to insure accuracy.

    The voltage readings from the Fastauto are just like the Sunmoons - two decimal places. They're not accurate enough for the reviews anyway. I still need a decent 5.5 digit DMM.

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Oklahoma Wolf For This Useful Post:

    allikat (01-17-2017), Philipus II (12-29-2016)

Similar Threads

  1. Retirement Announcement
    By Oklahoma Wolf in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 72
    Last Post: 02-07-2019, 03:38 PM
  2. 4 Pin Purpose
    By tomterw in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-06-2017, 04:33 PM
  3. What is the purpose of having an 8 pin...
    By MartyLK in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-29-2007, 04:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •