Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: The All Purpose SunMoon Retirement Thread

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    149
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default The All Purpose SunMoon Retirement Thread

    Say hello to my not so little friend.

    The dual SM-268s have officially been retired. They took one look at this monster and went into hiding.

    The new load tester is a FastAuto FA-4200ATE. The two SunMoons could load about 1kW each, and that was for only a short time until I bolted extra fans to them. This unit can load 3920W.

    Expect any fan noise comparisons to be even more irrelevant - I count at least three 120mm screamers in this thing, and a fourth will be bolted to the back so I can get the hot air into the hot box.

    I hope to add some more tests to the methodology as I learn how to operate this beast, but for now things won't change a lot. A lot of wiring work needs to be done to pull in the breakout board properly so I can take advantage of the super high capacity of the four 12V rails this things has.

    The D5100 was too intimidated to get this shot. The D800 had to shoot it instead

    Attachment 2478

  2. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Oklahoma Wolf For This Useful Post:

    -The_Mask- (12-13-2016), asf14tomcat (12-11-2016), breixobaloca (12-25-2016), crmaris (12-09-2016), Internet (12-09-2016), Microflop (12-09-2016), Nuckles_56 (12-09-2016), Philipus II (12-09-2016), quest for silence (01-12-2017), Tator Tot (12-09-2016)

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    206
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    177
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Wow, congrats!!!!

    But what are the advantages of the FastAuto over the SM-268?

    Edit, got too excited, started to ask before looking, hahahaha...

    http://www.fastauto.com.tw/english/E-4200ATE.htm
    Last edited by Internet; 12-09-2016 at 01:53 PM. Reason: asked something which is already on OP

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    149
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    The beast has just run its first set of cold tests on a 750W unit. Managed to kick two of the fans into high speed for a little bit. Now I know where the most hot air comes out for the hot box duct.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,379
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    381
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    116
    Thanked in
    89 Posts

    Default

    Can you add fan speed measuring?

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,716
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    72
    Thanked in
    66 Posts

    Default

    Congrats...
    I'd like to have a load tester myself...

    You don't know where one could get one rather cheap, do you?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    206
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    177
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    Can you add fan speed measuring?
    He's already doing this: http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...tory3&reid=496

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,094
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    415
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    27
    Thanked in
    20 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Internet View Post
    He's only done fan speed measurements on units like that because they're digital and have software which reports the fan speed.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Tator Tot For This Useful Post:

    Internet (12-17-2016)

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    149
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    Can you add fan speed measuring?
    Nope, the hot box will not allow it.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,379
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    381
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    116
    Thanked in
    89 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Oklahoma Wolf View Post
    Nope, the hot box will not allow it.
    Add a window with plexiglass or something like that, so you can read the fan speed.

  12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to -The_Mask- For This Useful Post:

    Jon Gerow (12-13-2016), quest for silence (01-12-2017)

  13. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,716
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    72
    Thanked in
    66 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Oklahoma Wolf View Post
    Nope, the hot box will not allow it.
    Why would you do it in the hot box?
    In there all PSUs should be rather loud.

    With normal or a bit higher room temperature (25-30°C) I find it more useful than the hot box values...

Similar Threads

  1. Retirement Announcement
    By Oklahoma Wolf in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 72
    Last Post: 02-07-2019, 03:38 PM
  2. 4 Pin Purpose
    By tomterw in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-06-2017, 04:33 PM
  3. What is the purpose of having an 8 pin...
    By MartyLK in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-29-2007, 04:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •