Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: GQ 650 power switch issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    18
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default GQ 650 power switch issue

    Hello, just built new computer today. Have used new EVGA GQ 650 power supply. When it came out switch was in OFF position. Once i switched it to ON position coulnt switch it back to OFF. When i try to press switch down it refuse to lock. Same as u would press spring down but it would pop up once u release.
    So i want to know your opinion if it safe to use this PSU?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    2,245
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    129
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    12
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    You should return the PSU, as it can't be switched off without pulling the power cord (or turning off the power strip/outlet). The power switch is fused and that's dangerous.
    Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    18
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by McSteel View Post
    You should return the PSU, as it can't be switched off without pulling the power cord (or turning off the power strip/outlet). The power switch is fused and that's dangerous.
    Weird, i have never used this switch in the past. Once u build your system why would u even touch it? However can u explain how it can be dangerous by letting switch always stay turned ON? How i imagine it, switch just opens and closes a circuit, same way u turn on and off lights in your room, am i wrong?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    2,245
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    129
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    12
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    Because something made it fuse, which is to say the two conductive plates welded together; meaning it could be faulty in other ways too (poor metal purity of the conductive plates). Current actively passes through the weld point, which could be of a much smaller contact area than if the plates were separated but touching, meaning it will have a larger resistance.

    This, in turn, can lead to heating up of the switch, oxidation and degradation of the weld point, further increasing resistance until the plastic on the switch and possibly insulation on the AC wires in the PSU melts and perhaps catch fire in extreme circumstances.

    Sure, the PSU works now and may be fine for years and years to come. But you did pay for it and it's partially faulty, potentially even dangerously so. For that reason, you may want to exchange it for a new one. Just sayin'...
    Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    18
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by McSteel View Post
    Because something made it fuse, which is to say the two conductive plates welded together; meaning it could be faulty in other ways too (poor metal purity of the conductive plates). Current actively passes through the weld point, which could be of a much smaller contact area than if the plates were separated but touching, meaning it will have a larger resistance.

    This, in turn, can lead to heating up of the switch, oxidation and degradation of the weld point, further increasing resistance until the plastic on the switch and possibly insulation on the AC wires in the PSU melts and perhaps catch fire in extreme circumstances.

    Sure, the PSU works now and may be fine for years and years to come. But you did pay for it and it's partially faulty, potentially even dangerously so. For that reason, you may want to exchange it for a new one. Just sayin'...
    Thanks for explanation, well in my country this will cost me 20$ to return. I could have get G2 750 for this extra cost. Well i guess i have to return it. Shame on EVGA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Germany, Berlin
    Posts
    1,622
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    976
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    31
    Thanked in
    25 Posts

    Default

    Check with your local shop. And EVGA customer support.

  7. #7
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Makentox View Post
    Well i guess i have to return it. Shame on EVGA
    Shit happens, don't blame EVGA just for that: didn't you read how many owners of precious Seasonic Platinum and Prime complained here? That's why the seller of choice can make a difference.
    Best, Luca

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    694
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    31
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Those units are very well made, too bad this happened.

    Have you conected the power cable first to the electrical line and then to the PSU?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    GURU-ville
    Posts
    1,312
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    48
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    26
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Makentox View Post
    well in my country this will cost me 20$ to return.
    Damn! That sucks.

    Quote Originally Posted by Makentox View Post
    Well i guess i have to return it. Shame on EVGA
    As has been said, it happens. Don't count out EVGA just for one fault. All manufactures have units that make it to the customer in less than operable working status. There's always someone finding that diamond, er I mean steaming pile of $@!^# in the rough.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,264
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    327
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Return it to the retailer before EVGA.

Similar Threads

  1. Planar transformers for switch-mode power conversion
    By ashiekh in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-21-2018, 09:54 PM
  2. Can a loose power switch from the case be an issue?
    By TheMasterNinja in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-27-2016, 02:27 PM
  3. Front pannel power on switch not working
    By Captain rainbow in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-03-2015, 02:40 AM
  4. AX860 on APC BackUPS PRO BR1500, it switch to battery when I power off the PC.
    By sblantipodi in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 12-25-2014, 08:09 AM
  5. My HX1000 power switch..
    By Baron in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2010, 03:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •