Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41

Thread: Fixing Rigol DS2000 design/manufacturing flaws

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    780
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    26
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ITelektro View Post
    I've try some from ebay and just given up. They are so inaccurate that it simply there is no point to use those. It crossed my mind to buy a cheap uni-t multimeter and put it in case. If you find something acceptable, paste link.
    My grandfather has some real nice german made panel meters... But they're analog. (More like a whole unused box of them)

    Those $1 ebay ones are trash. Don't even both with them.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    50°4'53.169"N, 14°23'30.699"E
    Posts
    1,578
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    90
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    There are some as cheap as 1 buck?

    Anyway seems that there may be some problems running multiple meters from the same power supply according to a post on EEV depending on how the meters are internally wired. Trying to search for more information ATM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    12
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
    My grandfather has some real nice german made panel meters... But they're analog. (More like a whole unused box of them)
    Those $1 ebay ones are trash. Don't even both with them.
    Oh this old thing ..... I will never get over because I sold the old analog oscilloscope Hameg .....
    I tried the cheap ones from a couple of dollars and those of 30usd ..... just do not have confidence in these instruments because proved to be inaccurate. Now I use Uni-T 200 series dc clamps and ac / dc clamp to the oscilloscope for current control.
    When catch time I check why this is so imprecise, if the problem is in shunt or / and in the meter.

    Quote Originally Posted by Behemot View Post

    Anyway seems that there may be some problems running multiple meters from the same power supply according to a post on EEV depending on how the meters are internally wired. Trying to search for more information ATM.
    In my case it was not a problem. I made a linear power supply with the necessary rails and built it into a dc load. So it should not be a problem

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    166
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    327
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quest for silence View Post
    Thanks for the reminder I spend too much time having to consider that whilst I write my thesis

  5. #15
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nuckles_56 View Post
    Thanks for the reminder
    You're welcome: it was a reminder for me too, and best wishes for your thesis!
    Best, Luca

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to quest for silence For This Useful Post:

    Nuckles_56 (10-15-2016)

  7. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    12
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    There are also reviewers who have managed to build their own loaders. However, their test results are questionable since they cannot be reproduced.
    I just read this on Tom's Hardware site.
    According to this, it appears that with diy elecronic load is not possible to make accurate results. Perhaps author of this text is participating on this forum?

  8. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,700
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    116
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    According to this, it appears that with diy elecronic load is not possible to make accurate results.
    Rather REPEATABLE results. They seem to cling to the same assumptions that are made for CPU/GPU testing - and those don't seem quite valid in PSU realm.

  9. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    70
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    12
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That is so wrong, but I would certainly like to hear arguments for such a thing to write.
    Quote Originally Posted by rafal_iB_PL View Post
    Rather REPEATABLE results.
    And even in this case it is still wrong.
    Diy dc load is not a measuring instrument, it's just a load. Which measuring instrument will be controlled conditions will determine the precision and accuracy.
    So if I control setpoint current with my multimeter accuracy of 0.0035 + 0.0005 and a high precision shunt of 0.01% will have a more precise and more accurate results than on the Croma (0.1%), and the results will be repeatable, and accurate within these 0.01%.
    In other words, the constant load of 1A is 1A load whether it comes from Croma load or something else it does not matter.It is important is that 1A and that it can with some certainly confirm. In this case within 0,01%
    Last edited by ITelektro; 10-16-2016 at 05:24 AM.

  10. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,700
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    116
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    They seem to mean "repeatable on different configurations". Within the same configuration results are repeatable, and I know that from experience. If they meant that, that was complete nonsense.

  11. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    50°4'53.169"N, 14°23'30.699"E
    Posts
    1,578
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    90
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Maybe the explanation is simple…there is growing competition of ppl with home-made HW producing high-quality articles. They are starting to loose readers so they came up with this, which, translated, reads as "we, and couple others who have big money to buy branded stuff, are the only good ones so don't read the others". Just added some wannabe technical bubbling so average Joe does not see it through right away.

Similar Threads

  1. Enermax has ceased PSU manufacturing
    By Behemot in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-12-2014, 05:03 AM
  2. Rigol VS5000 usb scopes
    By crmaris in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-02-2011, 02:31 AM
  3. rigol 1052e came problems started
    By crmaris in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-20-2010, 11:47 AM
  4. 1kw+ PSUs, all of them have flaws??
    By HKPolice in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-17-2007, 05:24 AM
  5. Manufacturing Cost Of 300w Power Supply?
    By Per Hansson in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-18-2007, 04:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •