Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can my PSU handle a GTX 750ti or a RX 460 2GB?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Can my PSU handle a GTX 750ti or a RX 460 2GB?

    im planning to upgrade my PSU to one of them mentioned in the title and im on very low budget. i currently have a powerlogic magnum pro 275x PSU in my pc which has a peak power of 550W.

    My specs:
    CPU: Core 2 Quad q8400 2.6ghz
    RAM: 8gb (2*4gb sticks)
    Motherboard:Asrock G41M-S3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    698
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    33
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shammikit View Post
    im planning to upgrade my PSU to one of them mentioned in the title and im on very low budget. i currently have a powerlogic magnum pro 275x PSU in my pc which has a peak power of 550W.

    My specs:
    CPU: Core 2 Quad q8400 2.6ghz
    RAM: 8gb (2*4gb sticks)
    Motherboard:Asrock G41M-S3
    Nasty unit. I am sorry for your hardware.

    Get a better one, ASAP. Seasonic ECO 430W/Antec VPF 450W/XFX TS 430W/Corsair CX450M/Corsair Vengeance 400W/EVGA 430 W1 / EVGA 450B...get the cheapest and you will be fine.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Delter For This Useful Post:

    Cyrix (10-08-2016)

  4. #3
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    You meant you are adding a discrete GPU, right?

    Your PSU is a 180W one (15A nominally on the 12V rail), and a very bad one: put in the trashcan, please.
    Best, Luca

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    America's Wang
    Posts
    325
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    146
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    you have TechZone with a Inwin Commander III750 for 10,000LKR

    you have RedLine Technologies with an FSP Hexa+ 550 for 8,000 LKR
    or a FSP Hydro 600 80+ Bronze for 12,000 LKR

    these three are a hell of alot better than that thing that's trying to call itself a psu..

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    684
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    20
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    There's no way that thing can handle 550W peak power. Another unit with fantasy numbers attached to it. It'll probably explode long before that.

    Rig 1: Core i5 6600K - Asus Z170 Pro Gaming - Corsair Vengeance 16GB PC2666 RAM - MSI GeForce GTX1070 - Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD + 2TB Seagate SSHD - Corsair RM550x - Fractal Design R5 - Win10 64

    Rig 2: Ryzen 1700X @ 3.9 GHz - Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5 - Corsair LPX 16GB PC3200 RAM - Gigabyte GeForce 1070 - 250GB Samsung EVO 850 SSD - Corsair RM650i - Win10 64
    HTPC: AMD A6-6400k - MSI FM2-A75IA-E53 mITX - 8GB Kingston HyperX 1866MHz - 3.5TB storage - Silver Power 460W passive - CM Elite 120

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,206
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    544
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    308
    Thanked in
    223 Posts

    Default

    But PowerLogic's marketing says it's "power you can trust".

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    America's Wang
    Posts
    325
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    146
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    But PowerLogic's marketing says it's "power you can trust".
    There is nothing "logical" about it , Spock must be spinning in his grave...
    Last edited by Cyrix; 10-10-2016 at 11:00 AM.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,264
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    327
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyrix View Post
    There is nothing "logical" about it , Spock must be spinning in his grave...
    Hello. I am often bashed for not understanding sarcasm. Now I get to do the same to you.

Similar Threads

  1. Corsair VS350 can handle 7 HDD?
    By Ansem1 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-07-2019, 04:07 PM
  2. PSU power? VOSTRO 460/ i7-2600/ GTX 750ti/ 400W RS-400-PCAP-A3
    By th1979 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-04-2019, 06:35 PM
  3. Will a SF Leadex 750 Platinum handle this?
    By kunid82 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-31-2015, 08:18 AM
  4. Can a FSP500-60APN handle a GTX 970
    By IvoPk in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 09-03-2015, 10:45 AM
  5. Another Will This Handle It Thread
    By chewietobbacca in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-02-2007, 05:32 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •