Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Can RM650i be the problem ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Eu E
    Posts
    32
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Exclamation Can RM650i be the problem ?

    Hello !

    I have problems with artifacts / pixelation / tearing in some games(can't even slightly fix with AA ). Before changing 2 components , a 390 msi and a RM650i corsair , hadn't these problems .

    Now I think I ruled out the msi 390 as I tried it in w10,w7 with cd drivers, catalyst,crimson 16,3 - 30 hours of installing/uninstalling games , w , drivers. Today I tried my ex 6870 with the ga drivers from site and I get same pixelation/tearing in shogun2 and guild wars2, elder scrools online.

    Before changing the 2 components I didn't had these kind of problems. As 390 and 6870 give same symptoms (mainly tearing in vegetation and when i'm zoomed out from objects/trees/troops ) i think the problem is the RM650i.

    But... my psu corsair RM650i is one that I got as a RMA for a corsair TX 650 with a broken fan , that I got as RMA for my corsair TX 650 V2 that made coil whine in my gpu and had also a buzzing fan when heated up.

    So .. can the actual psu RM650i produce these problem in my system ? Can it be only a cable ? Psu has corsair link. Can I detect somehow the problem ?

    It would be too much for a third RMA, these would be crazy .

    Example of pixelation in trees on r9 390 w10 :
    https://youtu.be/eIH_C1stGRo
    Example of pixelation in pine trees in shogun 2 menu :
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z3iP...ature=youtu.be

    Attached also a picture with corsair link at iddle, it seems high ?


    My specs : 3570k i5 3rd gen , z77x ud4h , corsair 8gbx2 cmx16gx3m2a1600c11
    msi 390 , RM650i , INTEL 520 SSD .Monitor 1440p 60 hz, TV 1080p 60 Hz
    I'm thinking buiing a new psu, silent : tx 650v2 that gave good work in games was 94mv on 12 rail, 26 mv on 5v and 19 mv on 3.3 if it maters, also it was single rail.

    Which do you recommend ?
    http://seasonic.com/product/g-750/
    http://seasonic.com/product/s12g-750/
    http://seasonic.com/product/m12ii-750-evo/
    http://www.super-flower.com.tw/produ...7&ID=101&lang=
    http://www2.fsplifestyle.com/home/pr...ang=0&PSN=1351
    http://www.evga.com/Products/Product...110-B2-0750-VR
    http://www.evga.com/Products/Product...210-GQ-0750-V1
    http://www.evga.com/Products/Product...220-G2-0750-XR

    Thank you ,
    Last edited by aandredor; 04-05-2016 at 05:36 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    2,245
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    129
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    12
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    I'm inclined to believe this could actually be down to your CPU. Specifically, faulty L3 cache memory. Could you do a CPU test and check whether it returns any errors? Especially the FPU test, requiring loads of RAM and then another which fits in the CPU's cache.
    Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Eu E
    Posts
    32
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yes, i'll do the test .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Eu E
    Posts
    32
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Aida 64 is ok for stress test ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    780
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    26
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I think your Rm650i is fine. 650w is plenty for your setup.

    To stress test your cpu, aida and prime is fine.

    Artifacting is wierd. It could even be the game. Do you have any heavy demanding games? Like GTA V etc?
    Also, what cable is the monitor connected to the gpu? Any overclock on your gpu?
    Try underclock your gpu a bit and see if you artifact still. If it stops, it's your gpu.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Eu E
    Posts
    32
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It is some kind of video coruption . All was working fine on a windows 7 ultimate with no updates , ga 6870 , tx 650 v2 on all my four main games : shogun 2, rome 2, guild wars 2, elder scrools online .

    I changed to windows 10 and installed with windows 10 the new rmaed Rm650i and new r9 390 msi.

    I ruled out the r9 msi 390 on msi forum, it has latest vbios and ran heaven and unigine , it ran very well, very little rendering flicker in distance but I understood it's normal . Tried my ex 6870 and intel hd 4000 and I get same graphical coruption in vegetation when moving or when wind blows in vegetation . Also in shogun2/rome2 , when I zoom out at half the zoom distance troops start to flicker. Tried all video cards on my tv hdmi 1080p and on my dell monitor u2713hm 1440p with dual dvi and also with display port.Also reinstalled a w7 version with no updates but no improvement.

    6870 oc ga was oc from factory and lowered I think 15 mhz to stock but no improvement. 390 msi has 3 modes , silent, gaming and oc , about 20 mhz difference between each other, no improvement with any mode.

    I set up my 3570k to stock 3,4 and turbo auto oc, and no improvement, also I had setup my memory to xmp profile from 1333 to 1600 and no improvement.
    I haven't done any overcloking myself on any piece cpu/gpu since I bought the pc parts.

    So with no overclok I didn't find a way .I'll run more intensive stress test and get back, although I ran yesterday aida 64 for some minutes and all was ok.

    Can a big heatsink on cpu influence stress test ? I mean I have a thermalright macho, over 800 g I think , and cpu wown't pass 70 degrees C . Does heat matter in producing an error ?
    I'll underclock the gpu also , thank you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Eu E
    Posts
    32
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Another point , all look very well from close, trees, troops, when I zoom out and move , all that is in distance on the other part of the half/screes is flickering, tearing, artifacting.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Eu E
    Posts
    32
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Started a FPU test(only fpu marcked) and I see these voltage oscilating , is it ok? as of immage .Also cpu clock droped after 16 minutes as of the other immage) 36 degrees motherboard C and 70-75 CPU . as of 40 minutes of test. Also , corsair link stoppes working when I open aida and start the test .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Emperor's Retreat/Naboo Moenia
    Posts
    869
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,418
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I would bet that the problem is caused from the new Windows.
    When i upgraded from WinXP to Win7, some of my older games (*StarWars Force Commander to be specific) had some graphical alterations at the map display and became almost unplayable at some points !
    Did you tried to play the games that you mentioned by using the compatibility mode?
    CPU:Athlon 64 FX60 (2-cores) 2,6GHz
    Mobo:Asrock 939a785g
    cpu cooler:ArcticFreezer13 CO
    RAM:4 GB DDR 400MHz
    GPU:Asus 750 Ti 2GB
    PSU:Seasonic Platinum 660
    Monitor:Asus VE228HR
    Tower:Coolermaster Elite 430

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Eu E
    Posts
    32
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Tried shogun 2 and rome 2 in compatibility mode but it didn't improve. Problem is I reinstalled windows 7 and things look the same . Is it normal for 12v to drop as in ex post immage ?

Similar Threads

  1. corsair rm650x vs rm650i
    By kran11 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-17-2018, 04:53 AM
  2. RM650i stopped working after two months
    By YouToo in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 06-19-2016, 09:23 PM
  3. Corsair Link and RM650i fan
    By quest for silence in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-14-2015, 11:21 AM
  4. Corsair RM650i Review
    By Oklahoma Wolf in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-25-2015, 05:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •