Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Why dont you test hold up times in PSU?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Arabia
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Why dont you test hold up times in PSU?

    Hello ,

    I like your psu reviews very much , but it puzzles me that you dont test the hold up time which is supposed to start from 16ms and not every powersupply meets this condition (even some high end models).. why?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    49
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by samer1970 View Post
    Hello ,

    I like your psu reviews very much , but it puzzles me that you dont test the hold up time which is supposed to start from 16ms and not every powersupply meets this condition (even some high end models).. why?

    Thanks.
    This what Oklahoma Wolf / Jeremy posted a while back:
    http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/show...53&postcount=2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,087
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    540
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    275
    Thanked in
    199 Posts

    Default

    The SM-5500 can test hold up time for you. But at a few thousand USD, Tazz is going to have to increase the advertising rates in order to buy a few (something I've suggested he do).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    12
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by samer1970 View Post
    Hello ,

    I like your psu reviews very much , but it puzzles me that you dont test the hold up time which is supposed to start from 16ms and not every powersupply meets this condition (even some high end models).. why?

    Thanks.
    sunmoon does not do it correctly. It has a holdup test function, but the results are strange and as far as i know it only watches for the power good signal. That makes it useless.

    A lot of the holdup tests in the web are unfortunately wrong. So better not test it, than post some wrong stuff.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    398
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    102
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    correct, the values which the SunMoon outputs are incorrectly and vary widely.

    I've never used them for this reason and nico from PC Max neither.

    You need a Scope
    best regards
    Tinpoint

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,087
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    540
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    275
    Thanked in
    199 Posts

    Default

    Fair enough.

    It does simply measure the power good signal, but I've had fairly consistent results as long as the load is consistent.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Germany, Berlin
    Posts
    1,620
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    970
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    31
    Thanked in
    25 Posts

    Default

    The problem is some companies started "cheating" now.

  8. #8
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philipus II View Post
    The problem is some companies started "cheating" now.
    I guess you don't know whether they've already done that in the past.
    Best, Luca

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    398
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    102
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philipus II View Post
    The problem is some companies started "cheating" now.
    do you think "now" is the right word chice
    best regards
    Tinpoint

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,700
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    116
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tinpoint View Post
    do you think "now" is the right word chice
    The problem is that we now know that some companies are "cheating".
    Fixed.

    IIRC, besides cheating, hold-up time also depends on whether you cut off power at the peak/zero/or somewhere in between on the AC sinusoid.

Similar Threads

  1. Jonny reviews lack the Hold Up Time test.
    By sblantipodi in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 90
    Last Post: 01-05-2018, 06:03 AM
  2. Faulty PSU - repair or dont?
    By WereCat in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-10-2015, 01:38 PM
  3. Cheap quiet PSU, dont care about efficiency (UK)
    By razor1911 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 06-05-2012, 07:23 AM
  4. How is Hi-Pot Test? (Electric Strength Test and Impulse Test)
    By J.O in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 10:28 AM
  5. Just dont get it...
    By ChadCarlton in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-14-2007, 02:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •