Thread: Looking to repair a PSU

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Looking to repair a PSU

Greetings! Long time reader. Great site, the in depth reviews were very helpful and I bought my new PSU based on them (EVGA 750 G2).

Being replaced is a SilverStone ST60F I bought in 2006. I had to RMA once, but for nearly 8 years its been reliable and trouble free besides one fan replacement.

In January the computer shut down and didn't want to start back up for a moment. It eventually did, and having experienced this before in another machine, I figured bad PSU, which was the case as I've had no problems since switching it out.

That said, this would be a great backup PSU or one for another machine if I could get it fixed. Yesterday I opened it up and looked around.

Bingo.

Only one I saw that looked bad. I'd like to replace it and get this going again.

I freely admit I'm no expert with electronics. I've replaced a micros witch on my Performance Mouse MX and blown capacitors on my old LCD monitor, however I had the luxury of finding a cap kit for the model and didn't have to go hunting capacitors down.

If looks like this Teapo capacitor is 2200uF 6.3V rated at 105°C (says SC105°C on the cap).

Would this be the correct replacement?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/141507047875

Thanks.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to Intrepidation For This Useful Post:

sith'ari (04-07-2016)

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Although lot of people here are PSU experts, for this particular issue (cap replacement), i believe that the most suitable person to guide you would be Pavel / Behemot (he is replacing caps all the time), but recently he got banned from Jonnyguru.com (*sometimes he just can't control his mouth!!), so you could contact him through his site, Hardwareinsights.com ( http://www.hardwareinsights.com/wp/ )
    CPU:Athlon 64 FX60 (2-cores) 2,6GHz
    Mobo:Asrock 939a785g