Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: PSU doesn't work, gets replaced, then works.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    82
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default PSU doesn't work, gets replaced, then works.

    I had a PSU issues that resolved itself, and I'd appreciate if someone could explain it to me.

    At first my PC
    Arctic Cooling Fusion 550R (I know... but I live in a 230V country where the test results were fine)
    ASRock 870 Extreme3 R2.0
    PhenomII X4 955
    6950 graphics card
    ...some other stuff

    I hadn't used my PC for about a year because I was abroad. I faintly remember there were some issues with the PSU before when I wanted to give my cousin some parts before leaving, so that was when the PSU was still in use.
    When I tried my PC after I came back, it just didn't start. AFAIR the fan would spin, but not even the "Dr. Debug" (diagnostic LED on the board) would show anything. Remembering there was some issue with the PSU back then, I bought one at a local store just to check. System worked. I then tried the Arctic once more and... it worked! And it does just fine ever since (it's been a month or something). No problems.

    Just... why?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Emperor's Retreat/Naboo Moenia
    Posts
    869
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,418
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    -The most logical explanation is that something went wrong when you connected the cables at the 1st time.
    -Or maybe the power connector (the little cable from the tower's power-on button that connects to the mobo) was misplaced at the 1st time.
    CPU:Athlon 64 FX60 (2-cores) 2,6GHz
    Mobo:Asrock 939a785g
    cpu cooler:ArcticFreezer13 CO
    RAM:4 GB DDR 400MHz
    GPU:Asus 750 Ti 2GB
    PSU:Seasonic Platinum 660
    Monitor:Asus VE228HR
    Tower:Coolermaster Elite 430

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    503
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    46
    Thanked in
    36 Posts

    Default

    Loose connection.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    82
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The fan started spinning, so there must have been a signal from the case to the board and to the PSU. I'm pretty sure I checked every connector at least twice.
    Do you mean "loose" like something (cable or pin) is broken and won't connect even I plug everything firmly?

Similar Threads

  1. Replaced psu and now screen goes black while playing games
    By Dushyant in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-28-2018, 11:59 AM
  2. New PSU doesn't work
    By Quagmire in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 10-11-2010, 09:09 AM
  3. Fan needs to be replaced
    By thegardener in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-13-2009, 09:07 AM
  4. PSU Fan Doesn't Spin. Computer Works Fine?
    By Fretwise in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-17-2008, 01:55 PM
  5. Electrolytic Capacitors: Can they be replaced cost effectively?
    By signmeuptoo in forum Electronic Component Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-19-2008, 05:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •