Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Removing line filter capacitors from cables?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    17
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Removing line filter capacitors from cables?

    I'm just wondering about a few things:

    What would happen if a capacitor blew on a cable?

    What would happen if the cable was replaced with another cable without a line filter in it?

    How often do these capacitors fail? is it something to worry about for long term reliability?

    Thanks for the help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    398
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    102
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    this caps are only for Ripple reduction
    best regards
    Tinpoint

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    50°4'53.169"N, 14°23'30.699"E
    Posts
    1,578
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    90
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You mean modular cables on the output of some ATX unit?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,148
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    543
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    286
    Thanked in
    206 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SaintsEnd View Post
    I'm just wondering about a few things:

    What would happen if a capacitor blew on a cable?
    Not likely, but it would just break that connection.

    Quote Originally Posted by SaintsEnd View Post
    What would happen if the cable was replaced with another cable without a line filter in it?
    Ripple would be slightly higher. May also be greater negative spike in voltage when load changes are very fast and hard.

    Quote Originally Posted by SaintsEnd View Post
    How often do these capacitors fail? is it something to worry about for long term reliability?
    Almost never. They're not exposed to high heat and are typically solid caps (except for the old Enhance built units that used the 4200uF caps to reduce graphics card whine) and are rated at at least 85°C.
    [/QUOTE]

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    sith'ari (02-01-2016)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    17
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    @behemot Yep, exactly

    @jonnyguru Thanks, Have seen you mention many times in your reviews, but never knew if reliability was an issue for this. Glad you cleared it up for me.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    50°4'53.169"N, 14°23'30.699"E
    Posts
    1,578
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    90
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well, it can happen. For example there are crapxons KM, one of the worst GP caps in the SF Leadex Platinum 750 W I reviewed.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,148
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    543
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    286
    Thanked in
    206 Posts

    Default

    And I'm sure they'll be just fine.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Germany, Berlin
    Posts
    1,626
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    977
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    32
    Thanked in
    26 Posts

    Default

    I really would worry about caps there. Even if they only meet half their rated life time - which I definately wouldn't assume for CapXon in 2016 any more - they would live "forever" in this position. Low heat, low ripple, nothing to worry.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,148
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    543
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    286
    Thanked in
    206 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philipus II View Post
    I really would worry
    Quote Originally Posted by Philipus II View Post
    nothing to worry.
    Which one is it?

Similar Threads

  1. Inline capacitors on PSU cables.
    By HKPolice in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-20-2017, 03:21 PM
  2. Why many PSU have capacitors in some cables?
    By Rhoken in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-15-2017, 06:16 PM
  3. PSU Modular Cables with dual 6+2 and capacitors
    By PontiacGTX in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-14-2017, 02:35 AM
  4. Removing capacitors from cabling for EVGA P2 / T2 series
    By sebna_power in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2016, 08:41 AM
  5. Removing extra cables... Can it be done?
    By hagatha in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-06-2007, 11:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •