Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: PSU - Damaged by switching to Desktop?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default PSU - Damaged by switching to Desktop?

    Hey,
    is it possible to cause damage to my PSU by switching to desktop while in game?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,527
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    387
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    160
    Thanked in
    122 Posts

    Default

    No

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    74
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
    No

    /thread
    AMD Ryzen 5 3600
    ASUS Prime X470 Pro
    16GB G Skill TridentZ 3200mhz
    Powercolor Red Dragon RX Vega56
    1x Samsung 970Pro 500GB, 1x SKHynix SC300 500GB, 1x Samsung 850Evo 500GB
    1x 1TB WD Black, 1x2TB Seagate Barracuda
    EVGA SuperNova 550G3
    Fractal Design Define S
    Dell S2719DGF, LG 24UD58-B, Dell U2415H
    Corsair Strafe Mk2 silent, Logitech G502

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    572
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    22
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Slardar View Post
    Hey,
    is it possible to cause damage to my PSU by switching to desktop while in game?
    Maybe, but only if it's completely terrible. In which case it's a danger to your system. Otherwise, nope.
    Intel i7-2600k with an XSPC Raystorm water block, 4x4GB Corsair Dominator, SLi Evga-GTX560Ti-448 FTWs, Asrock Extreme4 Gen3, Crucial M4 256GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB HDD, powered by a Silverstone Strider+ 850 PSU in a Silverstone TJ-07BW case.
    I'm not buying EK GPU blocks ever again. (One GPU killed)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I use "Bronze" quality PSU (hope saying it correct).
    I was playing dota 2, i switch to desktop and the PC reboot on its own. From this day every time i was switching from dota to desktop and then back, my pc was rebooting. Then every 3d app i was using my pc would restart. I changed my PSU (bronze again) and works fine.
    So i guess is ALRIGHT to switch from games to desktop as many times i want right? Or we are not suppose to do so?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,527
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    387
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    160
    Thanked in
    122 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Slardar View Post
    I use "Bronze" quality PSU (hope saying it correct).
    No, I guess you mean 80PLUS Bronze? That only tells you something about the efficiency and nothing about the quality.

Similar Threads

  1. Wondering about power strip switching on/off
    By flanker22 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-21-2017, 03:13 PM
  2. Buzzing noise when switching on
    By Topsy_ in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-17-2016, 01:15 PM
  3. Damaged Electronic components
    By tennythomas in forum Electronic Component Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-11-2011, 11:41 AM
  4. jonny need your opinion on a damaged corsair 400cx
    By Spawne32 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-23-2008, 11:11 AM
  5. Blackout Damaged Computers...need advice
    By PedroDaGr8 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-14-2008, 11:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •