Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Electrical instabilities will surely drive me insane !!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Emperor's Retreat/Naboo Moenia
    Posts
    869
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,418
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Electrical instabilities will surely drive me insane !!

    I'm fairly certain that i'm cursed!!
    I have a huge phobia for electrical anomalies, and for a good reason!!: They seem to follow me all the time!!
    (1)Few days ago i was fairly certain that my Tt GRAND Platinum 850 ( http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...Story&reid=415 ) might have been defective since i had some stability issues with the usb port in which my wi-fi was connected (i had sporadical wi-fi disconnections).
    After i put my older SS Platinum 660, these issues seem to be over, so i was ready to blame the Tt PSU...... BUT
    (2)Few days ago i noticed something else as well:
    Although i was setting (through control palel-> energy options) my monitor never to turn off, whenever i was restarting my pc, i was noticing that my choice couldn't not be saved, thus returning back to default settings!!
    I thought that my old s939 mobo had a problem, UNTIL i changed my UPS !!
    I used to have this one:http://www.cyberpower-eu.com/product...300epfclcd.htm which i recently replaced with this one: http://www.amazon.co.uk/APC-SMT750I-...+smart+ups+750 , and since this moment my monitor choices are being saved without going back to default after restart !!
    So, after i saw my number-(2) issue getting solved after the UPS change, i'm not so sure anymore if my number-(1) issue was caused by my Tt PSU (*although the issue seems fixed after PSU replace)
    -Any advices would be welcome since all these electrical anomalies are driving me insane !!

    P.S. Forgot to mention that with my second pc that is powered by a Corsair AX760, never faced issue-(1)(*theoretically PSU related) nor issue-(2) (*theoretically UPS related)
    Last edited by sith'ari; 11-25-2015 at 04:43 PM.
    CPU:Athlon 64 FX60 (2-cores) 2,6GHz
    Mobo:Asrock 939a785g
    cpu cooler:ArcticFreezer13 CO
    RAM:4 GB DDR 400MHz
    GPU:Asus 750 Ti 2GB
    PSU:Seasonic Platinum 660
    Monitor:Asus VE228HR
    Tower:Coolermaster Elite 430

  2. #2
    cheapie's Avatar
    cheapie is offline That weird furry girl they warned you about
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Earth, I think
    Posts
    338
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Somehow I don't think a UPS will make settings not get saved...

    I blame Windows.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to cheapie For This Useful Post:

    sith'ari (11-26-2015)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Emperor's Retreat/Naboo Moenia
    Posts
    869
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,418
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cheapie View Post
    Somehow I don't think a UPS will make settings not get saved...

    I blame Windows.
    But the windows weren't changed.
    I changed the UPS, and the problem doesn't exist anymore !!
    CPU:Athlon 64 FX60 (2-cores) 2,6GHz
    Mobo:Asrock 939a785g
    cpu cooler:ArcticFreezer13 CO
    RAM:4 GB DDR 400MHz
    GPU:Asus 750 Ti 2GB
    PSU:Seasonic Platinum 660
    Monitor:Asus VE228HR
    Tower:Coolermaster Elite 430

  5. #4
    cheapie's Avatar
    cheapie is offline That weird furry girl they warned you about
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Earth, I think
    Posts
    338
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Try putting the old UPS back and see if the problem comes back too.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to cheapie For This Useful Post:

    sith'ari (11-26-2015)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Emperor's Retreat/Naboo Moenia
    Posts
    869
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,418
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cheapie View Post
    Try putting the old UPS back and see if the problem comes back too.
    No way, i have no intention to put back something that was causing problems to my system!!
    It's the ONLY thing i changed after i had noticed the problem. Even when i changed the Tt GRAND Platinum 850 with the SS Platinum 660, the problem was persisting (*although my (1) problem with the wi-fi disconnection was solved after PSU change).
    Since i spotted the problem number (2), i must have made more than 10-15 system restarts, and always the energy settings of my monitor could not be saved and always returning to default.
    When i changed the UPS the settings were saved and remained saved !! I can't believe it myself as well !! (That's why i gave this thread such an extreme title )

    P.S. The funny thing is that i changed my UPS purely out of luck (just wanted a change for no reason) !!, never thought that i will notice something like that !!
    CPU:Athlon 64 FX60 (2-cores) 2,6GHz
    Mobo:Asrock 939a785g
    cpu cooler:ArcticFreezer13 CO
    RAM:4 GB DDR 400MHz
    GPU:Asus 750 Ti 2GB
    PSU:Seasonic Platinum 660
    Monitor:Asus VE228HR
    Tower:Coolermaster Elite 430

Similar Threads

  1. Electrical interference?
    By ice445 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-30-2015, 11:16 AM
  2. Max Load 422w. Surely this is unsafe?
    By jack-o-bytes in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-03-2013, 03:52 PM
  3. PSU 101: Electrical Basics
    By Jon Gerow in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-10-2011, 11:22 PM
  4. Insane Clown Posse vs. Science
    By Oklahoma Wolf in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-10-2010, 08:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •