Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: New build, won't POST: advice?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default New build, won't POST: advice?

    I put together a new system:
    Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3
    AMD FX6300 Black Edition
    Crucial Ballistix Sport 8gb (2 4gb sticks)
    Kingston HyperX Fury 120gb SSD
    EVGA 430w PSU
    Silverstone micro-ATX case

    It will power on (ie, CPU fan spins, and the LAN light blinks) but I get no video (using onboard currently) on any output (DVI, HDMI, VGA).

    I've tried taking out the RAM, using one stick, etc. No change
    I cleared the CMOS, no change

    I definitely cheaped out on the PSU, and I noticed that the mobo manual recommends at least a 500W. I can't think of anything else to do, so I am going to try a different one (which I will have to go buy). Any other advice before I do that?

    Also just noticed that I last visited 5/4/2009. Oops!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    122
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Do the FX series processors include integrated video?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'm not sure about all of them, but this one doesn't.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    122
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    From the Gigabyte website for that motherboard:
    Code:
    To enable AM3+ AMD FX-Series CPU support, please update your motherboard with the most current BIOS found in your motherboard’s download section.
    I've had AMD boards that behaved like yours when the BIOS didn't support the CPU; one time I had to buy a cheap old processor to get it to boot so I could update the BIOS.

  5. #5
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jtk View Post
    Any other advice before I do that?
    Did you power it already mounted inside the case? BTW, it does not look like a matter of PSU, unless it's actually defective (though new).
    Best, Luca

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I believe that is specifically for the 4.1 version of the board (although I'm not positive). Mine is a Ver 6.0 and has AMD FX listed on the front of the box. It would be pretty disappointing for it to require a BIOS update to actually work. But it's certainly possible.

    I'm going to try a different PSU first, but then I think the motherboard will be next.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yes, it's inside the case, although it's not a huge deal to get it back out. I assume you're thinking of shorts?

    I will try it outside the case, I think. Might as well try everything.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quick update: I took it out of the case and tried booting it with nothing but power, power + 1 stick of RAM, etc. Still nothing. I believe the motherboard is probably bad so I will try a new one first.

  9. #9
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Do you have any spare VGA?
    Best, Luca

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    23
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Unfortunately I don't. I was planning to use the onboard graphics though (this is not going to be used for gaming). Not sure what I'll end up with. Luckily everything is returnable!

Similar Threads

  1. PSU for my build / need your advice
    By Captcha in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-17-2018, 02:50 PM
  2. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-26-2015, 01:37 PM
  3. No post, new build
    By Permelia in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-22-2013, 05:47 PM
  4. First Build Advice
    By sunchip in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-30-2012, 09:16 PM
  5. Need advice PSU for new build
    By Rodramble in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-27-2009, 07:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •