Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need recommendations for PSU, please

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Need recommendations for PSU, please

Hiya, just registered.

I'm currently putting together a computer and the power supply is what I need help with. I don't have a PC right now, so please understand that at the moment I can research power supplies only a little. I’m very new to the whole building-one’s-own-computer experience, too (this is my first build), so please bear with me if I seem noobish

Here's what I have so far:

AMD Athlon 64 FX-57
    DFI UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert (24 pin connection)
    2 x 512MB RAM (PC3200)
    3-5 120mm case fans (Antec P180B case – ATX form factor)
    DVD drive, and floppy, too
    (read on for info regarding hard drives and video card)

Now, at the moment I do have a Fortron 400W, but I would like to add some items to the PC in the next couple months. I'm guessing that particular Fortron won't be adequate, and I don't know what would be a good choice for what I'm planning to add:

Hard drives: Currently I have a 250GB Western Digital SATA drive, and the P180 case has room for six drives total. I will add at least five 250GB drives, and maybe one or two more seeing as how there's some extra space what with only one 5.25" bay being used by the DVD drive...

Video card: I'm waiting to see if the prices change over the next month or so, but I will likely go with a 320MB 8800GTS. Maximum would be an 8800GTX, though probably not since I don't think it would fit in the case, especially with the space that the drives would take up. SLI/Crossfire will not be done.