Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Modify power cable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    ro
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Modify power cable

    I want to use my nice corsair gen3's for my Sirtec psu. I compared the cables and only the graphic card / PCIe cables differ. The CPU power and peripheral power cables have the same pin layout on the plugs and should work fine.

    black plug = corsair gen3 / red = stock sirtec pcie



    I got a recommendation that i should remove the problem pin all together but I was wondering what function it serves, if any? If it's just that so corsair works with corsair and nothing else I will remove it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,314
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    379
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    101
    Thanked in
    79 Posts

    Default

    The pin-out is different that's why you can't use different modular cables for different PSU's. If you want to use it anyway, then check every pin with a multi meter first and change wires if needed, before frying your PC.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,065
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    272
    Thanked in
    196 Posts

    Default

    Right. Are you assuming the pin out is the same on the other connectors because they're visually the same, or did you check the actual pin out?

    I've seen many a fried components from people that assumed pin out was the same because "it fit" when using cables from different suppliers in different PSUs.

    For example: You typically would want more grounds than hot wires. The row with the extra pin on the Corsair cable has an extra ground. They're all grounds on that row. The other row, with four pins, are +12V. What do you want to bet that Sirfa used the exact opposite configuration?

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    ehume (08-15-2015)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    ro
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I will get them modified by a guy that knows what he is doing. I am a real dead hand with multimetres and electrical in general. He told me that the sirtec "pin" is 12v while the corsair is ground, and that my gpu's should have burned on my 1st power up test

    Asummption mother of all I'll stick to the oem cables untill i get them properly done.

    You'd win the bet

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,343
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    900
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    17
    Thanked in
    16 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    . . . You typically would want more grounds than hot wires. . . .
    Extremely interesting. My question: Why?
    CPU: Core i7 8700k, HT enabled, all 6 cores OC'd to 4.8GHz, Vcore = 1.24v
    Heatsink: Noctua NH-D15 with one NF-A15 1500 RPM PWM fan
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z370X Aorus Gaming 7
    RAM: 4x16GB (64GB) Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 RAM 16-18-18-36@3200MHz, Vdimm = 1.35v
    GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 DirectX 12 with 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X
    SSD1: Samsung 840 EVO 500GB TLC; SSD2: SAMSUNG 860 EVO 1TB 3-bit MLC
    HD: WD 500GB (old); Case: LIAN LI PC-7H Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum 660W

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,065
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    272
    Thanked in
    196 Posts

    Default

    Short answer: reduced impedance.

    Long answer: Way too long for me to type out.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    ehume (08-15-2015)

  9. #7
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    Long answer: Way too long for me to type out.
    If you don't mind, you might also type out a technical marketing article on that famous blog ("Corsair cables are better because...") and then post an excerpt here.
    Best, Luca

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to quest for silence For This Useful Post:

    Philipus II (08-15-2015)

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,343
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    900
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    17
    Thanked in
    16 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quest for silence View Post
    If you don't mind, you might also type out a technical marketing article on that famous blog ("Corsair cables are better because...") and then post an excerpt here.
    . . . or a link to the whole thing.
    CPU: Core i7 8700k, HT enabled, all 6 cores OC'd to 4.8GHz, Vcore = 1.24v
    Heatsink: Noctua NH-D15 with one NF-A15 1500 RPM PWM fan
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z370X Aorus Gaming 7
    RAM: 4x16GB (64GB) Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 RAM 16-18-18-36@3200MHz, Vdimm = 1.35v
    GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 DirectX 12 with 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X
    SSD1: Samsung 840 EVO 500GB TLC; SSD2: SAMSUNG 860 EVO 1TB 3-bit MLC
    HD: WD 500GB (old); Case: LIAN LI PC-7H Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum 660W

  12. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,065
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    272
    Thanked in
    196 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quest for silence View Post
    If you don't mind, you might also type out a technical marketing article on that famous blog ("Corsair cables are better because...") and then post an excerpt here.
    I wasn't implying the Corsair cable was better. The Sirfa cable also has the extra ground wire. The difference is that the rows are flipped.

  13. #10
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    I wasn't implying the Corsair cable was better.
    Never thought you're impliyng that: I've just tried a workaround for your half august "typing laziness".
    Best, Luca

Similar Threads

  1. any way to fix critical RM1000x flaw? (modify default fan speed))
    By cossack in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12-27-2018, 09:21 PM
  2. Power Supply Cable
    By MNUR90 in forum For Sale/Trade
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-30-2018, 04:32 PM
  3. GPU - PSU power cable connection
    By cpaqf1 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-30-2016, 02:10 PM
  4. Cable for power transformer
    By therock003 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-18-2016, 02:33 PM
  5. Modify your Scythe Infinity - LGA 775 mounting system
    By korby in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-16-2007, 04:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •