Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: rm 850 click?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    costa rica
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
    That click noise: Did you flip the switch on the back or was that a click that occured when you press the power button in the front?

    Quest for Silence is correct about it being normal for a PSU to make a click when you press the front power button because it uses a relay to switch on and that relay makes a noise. But that noise in the video is REALLY loud.
    When i press the power button. At 1st it was like a loud clanck and now it's a low click

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Since the computer appears to still work fine, I think you are okay, for now. But I recommend you backup your data and start shopping around for a "good" UPS with AVR. And you might start looking at a replace PSU just in case and use this one as a spare. You most likely don't need a big 850W either.

    What does Speccy (from the makers of CCleaner) say your voltages are?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:

    sith'ari (05-13-2015)

  4. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,269
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    374
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    90
    Thanked in
    71 Posts

    Default


  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to -The_Mask- For This Useful Post:

    cheapie (05-06-2015), Orion (05-06-2015)

  6. #14
    cheapie's Avatar
    cheapie is offline That weird furry girl they warned you about
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Earth, I think
    Posts
    338
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
    What does Speccy (from the makers of CCleaner) say your voltages are?
    I must say I agree with -The_Mask- on this one... I have yet to see a board that reports accurate voltages.

  7. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cheapie View Post
    I must say I agree with -The_Mask- on this one... I have yet to see a board that reports accurate voltages.
    Okay, so? And how do you know? What is your point? What do you propose as an alternative? Or do you just post to agree and disagree?

    Agreeing with The Mask gets no one closer to understanding what is happening since neither of you bothered to offer any suggestions or alternative method of verifying the PSU is putting out good voltages.

    That said, while voltages seen through programs, including the BIOS may not be precisely accurate as measured via a multimeter while the PSU is under a proper load, it is my experience they are either ridiculously way off to where you know the board is not worth paying attention to, or within a .1 or .2V to where you know things are good.

    So IMO, in most cases the voltages read through the board are better than no voltage monitoring at all.

  8. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,323
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    890
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    12 Posts

    Default

    I have owned two motherboards in a row that have measuring points on them. One is the GA-Z87X-UD4H, and the other the GA-Z97X-Gaming 7. Since I have an analog multimeter, all I get are approximate Voltages; but the measured Voltages track the software-read Voltages fairly well. YMMV.
    CPU: Core i7 8700k, HT enabled, all 6 cores OC'd to 4.8GHz, Vcore = 1.24v
    Heatsink: Noctua NH-D15 with one NF-A15 1500 RPM PWM fan
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z370X Aorus Gaming 7
    RAM: 4x16GB (64GB) Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 RAM 16-18-18-36@3200MHz, Vdimm = 1.35v
    GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 DirectX 12 with 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X
    SSD1: Samsung 840 EVO 500GB TLC; SSD2: SAMSUNG 860 EVO 1TB 3-bit MLC
    HD: WD 500GB (old); Case: LIAN LI PC-7H Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum 660W

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to ehume For This Useful Post:

    Digerati (05-07-2015)

  10. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    When I said through the board, I meant via software, not via motherboard test points. But I agree, it is my experience the software read voltages are pretty accurate. If not, I sure would not recommend anyone do any overclocking.

  11. #18
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
    If not, I sure would not recommend anyone do any overclocking.
    To do any overclocking you eventually don't need to know the PSU rails voltages, which are not accurately read by most (if not all) the mobo in my experience (as well as in cheapie's one, if I didn't misunderstood): eventually you just need to know the relevant CPU and mobo voltages, and with reference to those figures the software readings are often enough reliable/accurate (differently from PSU voltages).

    Anyway, your advice to the OP as a whole seems sort of (maybe unfounded and probably unnecessary) over reaction for just that "clang/click".
    Last edited by quest for silence; 05-07-2015 at 07:41 AM. Reason: grammar corrections
    Best, Luca

  12. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    4,126
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    19
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
    When I said through the board, I meant via software, not via motherboard test points. But I agree, it is my experience the software read voltages are pretty accurate. If not, I sure would not recommend anyone do any overclocking.
    Well, in that case, you need to not recommend anyone do any overclocking.

  13. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yet another post submitted by you for the sole purpose of criticizing others that contributes nothing to the discussion. Again, I pity you.

Similar Threads

  1. Click noise on new PSU
    By Serigraf in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-05-2017, 09:22 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •