Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: This is what heat does to even the best Japanese caps

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default This is what heat does to even the best Japanese caps

This isn't a PSU, but it's PSU related. I work in IT in a hospital, and I had to replace a computer from late 2004 as part of our Windows 7 migration. Mind you, this computer still works. Slow as heck, but still works. I bring it back to the office to pull the HDD, and I happen to see this.

Now, the exhaust fan right next to this has long since had the sleeve bearing fail, so there was no airflow over these capacitors. And they are almost touching the CPU Heatsink. And it's a Pentium 4. Yeah, ouch.

These are also Rubycons, I looked them up. So high quality Japanese caps, + 10 years, + lots of heat. I honestly can't believe this thing still actually booted and ran, I would have expected this to fail years ago with caps like these.

Anyway, thought people on here would enjoy this.

2. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to cruzinforit For This Useful Post:

ehume (03-23-2015), McSteel (03-22-2015), Philipus II (03-22-2015), quest for silence (03-22-2015), sith'ari (03-22-2015), xnd_bogdan (03-22-2015)

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

Old MBZ Rubies, eh? Well, they held up as well as they could, I suppose. But you can't touch those Sanyos Fujitsus right next to them... I honestly believe they could stand a blowtorch blast.

Surprised to see NCC KZE and not KZG on there. Probably a good thing, KZGs from that period would've been goners by now.
    Last edited by McSteel; 03-23-2015 at 10:32 PM. Reason: Led astray by the scoring on the top... Oops.
    Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

That reminds me of my old Pentium 4 rig:

That's what you get for using a Codegen :P Not nearly as extreme case, but still.