Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: Will UPS batteries sustain for 10 years or more?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,229
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    856
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Fascinating info. And how do you know when it is time to replace the batteries?
    CPU: Core i7 8700k, HT enabled, all 6 cores OC'd to 4.8GHz, Vcore = 1.24v
    Heatsink: Noctua NH-D15 with one NF-A15 1500 RPM PWM fan
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z370X Aorus Gaming 7
    RAM: 4x16GB (64GB) Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 RAM 16-18-18-36@3200MHz, Vdimm = 1.35v
    GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 DirectX 12 with 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X
    SSD1: Samsung 840 EVO 500GB TLC; SSD2: SAMSUNG 860 EVO 1TB 3-bit MLC
    HD: WD 500GB (old); Case: LIAN LI PC-7H Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum 660W

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Fascinating info. And how do you know when it is time to replace the batteries?
    Good question. Typically it is when the power goes out and your system crashes because the batteries don't hold.

    If you are lucky, you will notice instead of having 30+ minutes, you have less and less until you don't even have enough time to gracefully exit your programs and manually shut down.

    APC provides PowerChute - it's monitoring software that lets you run self-tests and lets you monitor run times so you can keep track. But generally, it is up to you to remember when 3 years is up.

    I have two lamps with 150 lightbulbs I plug into my UPS, then pull the UPS plug from the wall and see what happens.

    If the battery shorts (instead of just wearing out), some UPS will have a fault LED.

    That UPS uses two 12V 7AH batteries.
    How do you know this. On the manufacturers website in specification section the 12VDC, 7ampere hours are not specified and the battery pack just cannot be found on Google I searched.
    If you visit a battery site, many have wizards where you punch in the brand and model and they tell you. Or you might see if you can download the manual. Or just wait until they fail then open it up and look.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:

    ehume (12-05-2014)

  4. #23
    cheapie's Avatar
    cheapie is offline That weird furry girl they warned you about
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Earth, I think
    Posts
    338
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
    A "good" UPS with AVR will help shape (regulate) the sine wave into something more easily used by the devices plugged into it. In low voltage events, it will use the batteries to boost the voltage up to normal levels, and in extreme high voltage events, it will use the batteries to dump the excess voltage (which batteries can absorb with ease), and/or dump the excess to ground (Earth).
    AVR in most (probably all) UPSes doesn't even touch the battery. Instead, they use an autotransformer with multiple taps to change the voltage (similar principle to a variac). This image (also in the article linked earlier) shows a "4 buck, 1 boost" configuration, with the first "buck" position currently selected. Most UPSes don't have this many. For example, my Tripp Lite SMART1500LCDT has 1 "buck" and 1 "boost" tap (in addition to the "normal" position).

  5. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Lahore, Pakistan.
    Posts
    37
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Batteries lasting 7 years?. Really?.

    After half a year, they lose nearly half of their capacity, at least under my usage/in my country.

    2 years and they are no good and it is time to change. I dont see them storing any amount of power at year 3/4, let alone year 7. lol

    Talking about lead acid. Sealed wont defy the laws of chemistry either. May last a bit long but are extremely expensive!.
    Case: CM Elite 334.
    PSU: Corsair CX 430.

    Motherboard: Asus P8H67-M LE.
    Optical Drive: HP 1270i.
    CPU/HSF: Intel Core i5-3570/CM Hyper 212 Plus.
    Ram: 2x4gB Corsair VS.

    HDD: 180gB Intel SSD 330 Series, WD Blue 500gB (AAKX).

    GPU: EVGA GTX 660 FTW Signature 2.
    Monitor: Samsung BX2031.
    Mouse/Keyboard: Razer Abyssus Mirror Special Edition/X7 G800.
    Mousepad: Razer Vespula ME3 edition.

  6. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    AVR in most (probably all) UPSes doesn't even touch the battery.
    Not "all" UPS.

    With some UPS, the batteries are used to (absorb) excess voltages because they are very tolerant of that. This is often necessary with "floating" or "isolated" ground applications where the excess voltages cannot be "shunted" to Earth ground. In avionics, it is typical. And on MANY UPS, when the voltage sags (brownouts), but not enough to fully cut-over to battery backup, the batteries are frequently used to boost the voltage back up to normal.

    Yes, the use of autotransformers are common too. But not always.

    That said, I should have been more clear and not imply that "all" (even of the "good") use the batteries in that way.

    Talking about lead acid. Sealed wont defy the laws of chemistry either. May last a bit long but are extremely expensive!.
    Not sure the point. Except for the 10 year Lithium Ions, we are only talking about sealed lead acid (SLA) batteries, as used in UPS. And the point of them being sealed is so user don't have to worry about leaking and adding fluids, and fumes - not about their internal chemistries.

    As far as your power in Pakistan, I might suggest you look at your mains (hire a certified electrician if necessary) and make sure your facility is properly wired and most important, has a good, solid, Earth ground - especially to your wall outlets feeding your computer. Consider a whole house suppression system to block excessive surges and spike coming off the grid. The cleaner the power coming into the UPS, the less it (and the batteries) have to work cleaning it up.

  7. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,396
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    497
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    20
    Thanked in
    14 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Captain rainbow View Post
    How do you know this. On the manufacturers website in specification section the 12VDC, 7ampere hours are not specified and the battery pack just cannot be found on Google I searched.
    http://eu.cyberpowersystems.com/prod...300epfclcd.htm

    Click on the "specs" tab and scroll down to "batteries".

    It's the same battery all the UPSs in my house use. I buy them off eBay for $10 to $15 a pop. Amazon for $20.
    Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

    Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to jonnyGURU For This Useful Post:

    Captain rainbow (12-06-2014)

  9. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    73
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    27
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Great now I can go ahead and buy the UPS. I was really bothered about the batteries. Thank You very much for the help.
    Last edited by Captain rainbow; 12-06-2014 at 04:35 PM.

  10. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Lahore, Pakistan.
    Posts
    37
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digerati View Post

    As far as your power in Pakistan, I might suggest you look at your mains (hire a certified electrician if necessary) and make sure your facility is properly wired and most important, has a good, solid, Earth ground - especially to your wall outlets feeding your computer. Consider a whole house suppression system to block excessive surges and spike coming off the grid. The cleaner the power coming into the UPS, the less it (and the batteries) have to work cleaning it up.
    Thanks but no thanks. I dont need to hire anyone. I have a brain that has a keen interest in these sort of things.
    Case: CM Elite 334.
    PSU: Corsair CX 430.

    Motherboard: Asus P8H67-M LE.
    Optical Drive: HP 1270i.
    CPU/HSF: Intel Core i5-3570/CM Hyper 212 Plus.
    Ram: 2x4gB Corsair VS.

    HDD: 180gB Intel SSD 330 Series, WD Blue 500gB (AAKX).

    GPU: EVGA GTX 660 FTW Signature 2.
    Monitor: Samsung BX2031.
    Mouse/Keyboard: Razer Abyssus Mirror Special Edition/X7 G800.
    Mousepad: Razer Vespula ME3 edition.

  11. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks but no thanks. I dont need to hire anyone. I have a brain that has a keen interest in these sort of things.
    Then exercise your brain and clean up the power coming in. You can't do much about full outages, but full outages don't prematurely take out batteries.

    I recommend you start by borrowing a good "megger" (Earth ground tester) and see how well your facility, then each outlet is grounded.

    Also note by hiring a certified professional, he or she is responsible for doing it right. That's important in terms of liability should something go wrong and someone gets hurt, or there's a fire.

  12. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Lahore, Pakistan.
    Posts
    37
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
    Then exercise your brain and clean up the power coming in. You can't do much about full outages, but full outages don't prematurely take out batteries.

    I recommend you start by borrowing a good "megger" (Earth ground tester) and see how well your facility, then each outlet is grounded.

    Also note by hiring a certified professional, he or she is responsible for doing it right. That's important in terms of liability should something go wrong and someone gets hurt, or there's a fire.
    Ok. I'll make sure I take some shampoo and soap and clean the power coming in.

    To OP, my answer is, no, they wont.
    Last edited by Serious Sam; 12-09-2014 at 11:51 PM.
    Case: CM Elite 334.
    PSU: Corsair CX 430.

    Motherboard: Asus P8H67-M LE.
    Optical Drive: HP 1270i.
    CPU/HSF: Intel Core i5-3570/CM Hyper 212 Plus.
    Ram: 2x4gB Corsair VS.

    HDD: 180gB Intel SSD 330 Series, WD Blue 500gB (AAKX).

    GPU: EVGA GTX 660 FTW Signature 2.
    Monitor: Samsung BX2031.
    Mouse/Keyboard: Razer Abyssus Mirror Special Edition/X7 G800.
    Mousepad: Razer Vespula ME3 edition.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Serious Sam For This Useful Post:

    mdk777 (12-10-2014)

Similar Threads

  1. My APC SmartUPS 1500 just cooked it's batteries
    By CBRworm in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-10-2014, 08:56 AM
  2. Require stable regulated DC 12v power off of batteries.
    By Gonkulor in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-04-2012, 08:09 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-19-2011, 01:28 PM
  4. If Jeremy could have his own line of batteries....
    By jonnyGURU in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-02-2010, 12:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •