Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Have I blown my PSU, GPU or both? :(

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    GURU-ville
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    48
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    22
    Thanked in
    5 Posts

    Default

    Dude, I was just simply putting it out there. You sounded like you was struggling with every suggestion by replying with "why or what" this. It was coming off as you didn't feel you needed to. If others take it the same way I was starting to, they would simply quit trying to help.

    All is well, just try their suggestions and we might be able to help you find your issue.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    48
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I just noticed this on my R9 280...

    http://imgur.com/4xW5rZQ

    That second last PCIE connector is shorter/broken?
    I guess that isn't normal at all...

    Could explain the issue perhaps...

    P.S. Tried everything on cardboard with both PSUs. Exact same issues. Computer just cuts to a solid colour after a random amount of time.

    Also tried swapping drivers too. Uninstalling from Safe Mode and then reinstalling. Cut to a solid colour the moment the install finished.

    Unfortunately I don't seem to have any sort of inbuilt Intel graphics to test anything else on :/

  3. #13
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Leijonasisu View Post
    I just noticed this on my R9 280...

    http://imgur.com/4xW5rZQ

    That second last PCIE connector is shorter/broken?
    I guess that isn't normal at all...
    It's a perfectly normal connector.


    Quote Originally Posted by Leijonasisu View Post
    Also tried swapping drivers too.
    There's no usefulness doing that: the only setup which may help you to diagnore a software failure is a fresh installation on a surely working drive.


    Quote Originally Posted by Leijonasisu View Post
    Unfortunately I don't seem to have any sort of inbuilt Intel graphics to test anything else on :/
    Which CPU+MB have you?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    48
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Mobo: Asus P7P55M
    CPU: i5-750 Lynfield

    Hmm if you say so. I know for a fact the small cut off the connector on the smaller power part of the PCIE connector is fine but are you sure it's okay on the longer reverse side of the 'data' connector pins? Whatever I'm sure you know more than me.

    Yeah I didn't think it was a driver issue either. That shouldn't cause pops and snaps..

  5. #15
    quest for silence's Avatar
    quest for silence is offline Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3,353
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,037
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Leijonasisu View Post
    Mobo: Asus P7P55M
    CPU: i5-750 Lynfield
    So no IGP: if you can't borrow a video card, you can't test your PSU (and your RAM, if you mind).


    Quote Originally Posted by Leijonasisu View Post
    Hmm if you say so. I know for a fact the small cut off the connector on the smaller power part of the PCIE connector is fine but are you sure it's okay on the longer reverse side of the 'data' connector pins? Whatever I'm sure you know more than me.
    The only thing I know for sure is that I've some video cards laying around here: so, you likely fried your R9 280, but at any rate that one is a perfectly normal connector.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,267
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    867
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Leijonasisu View Post
    Mobo: Asus P7P55M
    CPU: i5-750 Lynfield
    How sad. I like my Lynnfields.

    You seem to be a guy who wants to understand everything before you do it. That is commendable, but people aren't used to running into that orientation. So, when asking for advice, ask to understand the Why behind each suggestion. Most of us like to do that.

    As Tazz noted, getting your equipment laid out avoids shorts, and allows you to get close up and see/hear where the pops are coming from.

    One trick I picked up was to buy a $10 video card from newegg to use for testing and things. I originally bought it so I could do tests on fans and such without a graphics card adding noise. OTOH, that was quite some time ago, back when no Intel chips had built-in graphics. But even now, it's a great backup.

    One thing that is certain: when you are done with this exploration you will know a lot more about computers.
    CPU: Core i7 8700k, HT enabled, all 6 cores OC'd to 4.8GHz, Vcore = 1.24v
    Heatsink: Noctua NH-D15 with one NF-A15 1500 RPM PWM fan
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z370X Aorus Gaming 7
    RAM: 4x16GB (64GB) Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 RAM 16-18-18-36@3200MHz, Vdimm = 1.35v
    GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 DirectX 12 with 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X
    SSD1: Samsung 840 EVO 500GB TLC; SSD2: SAMSUNG 860 EVO 1TB 3-bit MLC
    HD: WD 500GB (old); Case: LIAN LI PC-7H Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum 660W

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    111
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Most likely you shorted some piece of the power supply section on the GPU and it is now barely working.

    You have described physically shorting connections on the back of the GPU, having a POP and smoke smell after attempting to run Furmark (much load on GPU - not so much on CPU) - also any smoke smell from within the case would get sucked into the PSU. And now you are describing classic symptoms of a failed GPU.

    If the PSU was overloaded by your short - it would most likely have turned off due to OCP and/or blown an internal fuse. If the PSU was damaged by your short, it likely wouldn't work at all, or enough for the motherboard to function at all. Also if the short was enough to blow the CPU, the arc probably would have taken the end off your key.

    Another unlikely possibility is that your short shorted a power lead coming from the motherboard which could cause various issues if it damaged the power supply section of the MB.

Similar Threads

  1. Recovering from a blown PSU
    By RokinLee in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-31-2012, 03:41 PM
  2. blown fuses in psu
    By michael27 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-12-2010, 03:09 PM
  3. Gigabyte P4 board - blown cap!
    By Minerva in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-17-2007, 10:02 AM
  4. Reparing a blown Power Supply - is there a fuse ?
    By wtdedula in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-19-2006, 08:36 PM
  5. Kingwin Mach 1 600W Potentially blown fuse?
    By Hutch in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-11-2006, 10:16 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •