Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: What type of UPS (line interactive or online UPS) should be used with a PFC PSU

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default What type of UPS (line interactive or online UPS) should be used with a PFC PSU

    Hi,
    I've done some research and most of the information is conflicting. Some say that a true sine wave output is needed and type doesn't matter while others say the opposite. I'm more of a software programmer and this is my first time encountering hardware related issues.

    Anyways, here is the problem. I have a server rack that was connected to a UPS line interactive UPS unit before. Im not sure of the specs because it was already installed before I was employed at this office. All I know is that it was an APC branded unit that was phased out awhile back. Recently with all the storms and power outages the UPS unit died. We purchased a Phoenix LSI-V 2000 Line Interactive UPS to protect our servers. Right after one of the many rolling blackouts, the brand new unit died. It was discovered that the PCB of the UPS was damaged. Upon contacting their technical support they replied with the following.

    All line interactive/offline UPS, whether it’s APC, Liebert, Eaton, cannot handle Computer with PFC Power Supplies. These power supplies are usually used by Servers (not Clone PC used as server). The power supply will try to correct the step wave output during battery mode, thus drawing too much power to the UPS causing it to overload and damage the components.

    In general, any Clone PC or branded desktop PC can be handled by line interactive with step wave output UPS. I cannot confirm with the list, it will depend on the power supply used.

    As a general rule if it’s a server use online. If it’s a workstation you can use line interactive. Just to be sure please check if the power supply has a built in PFC feauture.
    Now their reply doesn't sit well with me considering everything I read online and the previous UPS unit that carried the servers (a total of 2 towers and 1 blade server) was an APC line interactive ups that lasted more than 5 years. I also didn't mention that the power supply was a PFC. I know I'm missing something, but then again I'm not a hardware specialist. IF there is anything else I can add to help clarify the situation, please let me know. Thank you in advance and any help is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    27
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    There recently was a discussion here about this.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Hi SilentDragon
    Yes I'm currently reading that now, thats one of the reason I wanted to ask for advice . I'm not very knowledgeable on this so its rather confusing for me. While I'm looking for insight and advice on this problem I am also reading that thread to figure out what really is happening. The tech support I have contact with states that the PFC Power supply will damage the UPS, while on that thread it states that the UPS will damage the PSU. I also read there that the problem could be the voltage output from the wall to the ups. I'm just really confused


    EDIT: From what I read on the other post, it looks like the issue is the voltage. I live in the Philippines and the output is 220v. Would be be ok if I hooked up a 110 power converter to the UPS so it simulates a 110v environment? Its a small company and UPSs here are pretty expensive. SInce we already bought that unit I was wondering about work arounds to make it work.

    I guess my real issue is how to make the UPS unit work and if the email I received is BS
    Last edited by oshiro.kyo; 08-29-2014 at 04:36 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Type 3 cable use in RMi
    By Jon Gerow in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-29-2015, 03:39 PM
  2. what type PSU do i need ?
    By alifuruanz in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-17-2014, 05:22 PM
  3. What type of part is this?
    By cwailes in forum Electronic Component Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-23-2011, 03:17 PM
  4. How do you find out type of LCD one is?
    By signmeuptoo in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-10-2007, 04:30 PM
  5. Hiper Type R 730
    By Bbq in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 01:11 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •