Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Need to know if PSU can power 2 GPUs in 4U enclosure

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Need to know if PSU can power 2 GPUs in 4U enclosure

    I need some help choosing the right redundant power supply. I came across this 800W redundant power supply and want to know if it has enough power for my new build. I plan to install 2 Asus GeForce GTX 780 GPUs in a 4U rackmount chassis. I am concerned with the amperage on the 12V rail. The site says that this power supply is capable of 65A on the 12V rail. Is this enough for the 2 GPUs and other necessary system components? Where wattage is concerned, is 800W enough? I am relatively new to this field so any thoughts at all would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by Jacob P; 07-03-2014 at 01:29 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,253
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    864
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    I think you have an extra http: in your link. Maybe this.
    CPU: Core i7 8700k, HT enabled, all 6 cores OC'd to 4.8GHz, Vcore = 1.24v
    Heatsink: Noctua NH-D15 with one NF-A15 1500 RPM PWM fan
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z370X Aorus Gaming 7
    RAM: 4x16GB (64GB) Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 RAM 16-18-18-36@3200MHz, Vdimm = 1.35v
    GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 DirectX 12 with 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X
    SSD1: Samsung 840 EVO 500GB TLC; SSD2: SAMSUNG 860 EVO 1TB 3-bit MLC
    HD: WD 500GB (old); Case: LIAN LI PC-7H Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum 660W

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ehume For This Useful Post:

    Jacob P (07-03-2014)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Bad link

    Yes, thank you. That is the link I was referring to. I have updated the original post as well now.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    702
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    15
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    800W should be plenty of power (assuming it is genuinely an 800 Watter, that is)
    No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

    Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,425
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    11 Posts

    Default

    The connectors are a joke?!
    Just a 4 pin CPU connector and two PCI express (or two CPU and one PCIe??)...

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    702
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    15
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You get that in server power supplies. My Delta DPS-600MB only came with one 6-pin PCIE connector. I had to solder in another one for my GTX660 Ti
    No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

    Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,024
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    405
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    5 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stefan Payne View Post
    The connectors are a joke?!
    Just a 4 pin CPU connector and two PCI express (or two CPU and one PCIe??)...
    More often than not, when a unit is pulled from an existing machine, it only has enough cables for that machine.

    I've pulled a number of decent Hipro units from HP machines that only had a one or two SATA connectors, no PCIe connector, and a single molex.
    Even on a 300w unit that's pitiful, but the enclosures were designed for two 5.25" bay devices and a single hard drive so they only put in enough cables for 3 extra devices and no GPU.

Similar Threads

  1. Powenetics: A Better Way To Measure Power Draw for CPUs, GPUs & Storage
    By crmaris in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-29-2018, 06:19 AM
  2. May AMD CPUs bottleneck the most powerful GPUs?
    By quest for silence in forum CPU Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-13-2015, 08:21 AM
  3. EVGA SuperNOVA NEX750G 750W GOLD Number of GPUs
    By Kentt in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-09-2013, 06:20 PM
  4. Running 12V PCIe on seperate power supply for GPUs
    By RFMan in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-15-2009, 05:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •