Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Rampage IV wont boot with Corsair AX Powersupplies

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Rampage IV wont boot with Corsair AX Powersupplies

    Hi
    I ve my build posting error code B1 on my Rampage 4 Formula. Inward the motherboard for RMA and got it back with no issues on the board, but a possible power supply defect. Hence sent the Corsair AX750 for RMA, and the corsair guys were kind enough to send me back AX760i in return. Meanwhile, I also purchased a corsair VS650 before I received the RMAed AX760i and it worked perfectly. Now with the big grin on my face I plugged in the AX760i and it showed up the same B1 code with no display. Could it be possible that both the AX power supplies has the same problem?

    My Spec :
    i7 4930k, Rampage 4 Formula, 4X4 - 16gb G.Skilll memory, Asus DC2 780 and a couple of ssds

    Meanwhile I pluged in the AX760i in to the other Asus maximus IV PC I have and it works perfectly. Now I am clueless.. what am I doing wrong??frown.giffrown.gif
    P.S. : This build worked perfectly for almost six months until a month back.

    Also the rampage has gotten a slight scratch at its rear.. The asus service centre guys said that may not be the issue because the copper is not exposed and the Motherboard boots fine with their PSUs as well..frown.giffrown.gif

    Hope you guys can help.

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The AX power supplies do work on my other PC though..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,047
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    256
    Thanked in
    191 Posts

    Default

    Wow.. they sent you an AXi for your AX Gold? I would've thought they'd just send you an AX Platinum.

    Anyways, the problem sounds familiar. I just can't remember it right now. I'll do some digging.

    Sometimes these things pop up. Like, there was a Gigabyte board that did the same thing. Nothing was wrong with the PSU, but after Gigabyte did some testing, they found that changing the value of, or even removing, a particular resistor on the mobo solved the problem.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon Gerow For This Useful Post:

    j4jinto (06-30-2014)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for your reply Jonny Guru. Do let me know if you remember. I shall talk to the asus service center after that.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,047
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    256
    Thanked in
    191 Posts

    Default

    You should go ahead and talk to the Asus service center. If there's a compatibility issue with a certain revision of motherboard, they would probably already know about it.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-25-2018, 03:42 AM
  2. Used to be a ratings page for PowerSupplies
    By Rylos007 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-29-2015, 04:07 AM
  3. EVGA Z68 SLi Micro wont boot (PSU faulty?)
    By PierzOr in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-08-2013, 12:23 PM
  4. Won't cold boot.. corsair hx850w
    By fihnakis in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-18-2010, 03:35 PM
  5. Computer wont boot/no beeps
    By metalgz in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-16-2007, 08:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •