Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: I was referred to this forum for help. Please read

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default I was referred to this forum for help. Please read

    I have DVD Duplicator that's about 4 years old. I don't recall where I purchased it from but the power supply seems to be going out on it. It's a 1 to 5 duplicator with a total of 7 drive bays. I don't want to have to purchase a new tower and was hoping I could just replace the PSU, however it doesn't really look like the power supplies I've seen.

    The label on it says "ILY Switching Power Supply Model PP-300TA" and it doesn't have any cables other than SATA cables coming out of it. When I started searching for replacement PSU's they all have cables for the motherboard and such, which I won't need at all. Searching simply for "Switching Power Supply" or "Duplicator Power Supply" comes up with an overwhelming amount of information that just makes everything more confusing. So my question is, what exactly is this sort of power supply called and where might I be able to buy a replacement in the 300w to 500w range that doesn't have all the extra stuff that a normal PC power supply has?

    Thank you for taking the time to read.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,343
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    900
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    17
    Thanked in
    16 Posts

    Default

    Is this it?

    "300W power supply for 5-bay to 9-bay towers. This power supply contains 9 SATA power connectors, 1 molex connector and 1 4-pin connector."

    More pics here.
    CPU: Core i7 8700k, HT enabled, all 6 cores OC'd to 4.8GHz, Vcore = 1.24v
    Heatsink: Noctua NH-D15 with one NF-A15 1500 RPM PWM fan
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z370X Aorus Gaming 7
    RAM: 4x16GB (64GB) Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 RAM 16-18-18-36@3200MHz, Vdimm = 1.35v
    GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 DirectX 12 with 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X
    SSD1: Samsung 840 EVO 500GB TLC; SSD2: SAMSUNG 860 EVO 1TB 3-bit MLC
    HD: WD 500GB (old); Case: LIAN LI PC-7H Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum 660W

  3. #3
    cheapie's Avatar
    cheapie is offline That weird furry girl they warned you about
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Earth, I think
    Posts
    338
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    28
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You can always take a standard computer power supply and connect the green wire of the motherboard connector to any black wire.

    (Some power supplies have all black wires. If so, hold the main motherboard connector so that you're looking into the end, with the latch on your right. Connect the 4th pin from the top on the right side to the pin below it.)

    A pinout diagram of the connector can be found here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ehume View Post
    Is this it?

    "300W power supply for 5-bay to 9-bay towers. This power supply contains 9 SATA power connectors, 1 molex connector and 1 4-pin connector."

    More pics here.


    Yes that's it. I found the same site but it's out of stock. I found it at other sites, but it was closer to $80-$90 and I was hoping to find an alternative that was more reasonably priced. I'd like to not spend more than $45-$50 USD if possible.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,343
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    900
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    17
    Thanked in
    16 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Corvid View Post
    Yes that's it. I found the same site but it's out of stock. I found it at other sites, but it was closer to $80-$90 and I was hoping to find an alternative that was more reasonably priced. I'd like to not spend more than $45-$50 USD if possible.
    It looks to have the same dimensions as a standard PSU.

    cheapie just told you how to use a standard computer PSU.

    The only other thing you need to say is what kind of ventilation you have. If you need a straight-through airflow, as your current PSU has, you will need the same kind of PSU. If you can intake from the bottom or the top and exhaust out the back, a standard PSU will do.

    Either way, someone here should be able to steer you to an inexpensive, yet high quality PSU that fits your case.
    CPU: Core i7 8700k, HT enabled, all 6 cores OC'd to 4.8GHz, Vcore = 1.24v
    Heatsink: Noctua NH-D15 with one NF-A15 1500 RPM PWM fan
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z370X Aorus Gaming 7
    RAM: 4x16GB (64GB) Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 RAM 16-18-18-36@3200MHz, Vdimm = 1.35v
    GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 DirectX 12 with 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X
    SSD1: Samsung 840 EVO 500GB TLC; SSD2: SAMSUNG 860 EVO 1TB 3-bit MLC
    HD: WD 500GB (old); Case: LIAN LI PC-7H Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum 660W

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    64
    Thanked in
    58 Posts

    Default

    With some modifications it seems that some ATX PSUs could be used.
    Though it should be a unit wich is DC-DC based (like Enermax Triathlor or Seasonic S12G).
    Without modifications you've got a problem.

    What do you have to do: buy a 'two ATX-PSU' Adaptor, cut the two wires going from the one ATX connector to the other and cut them. The ATX Extension is not needid, so you can keep it or throw it away but don't forget to insulate the two cut wire.

    And the ATX connector with the two wires you connect to the AT switch and you're done.

    Be aware that there are PSUs with no load protection out there so not every PSU may work.
    Be quiets Dark Power Pro series (P8, P9 and also seems P10) won't work, others will...

    But remember: I have no Idea if what I'm saying is true or not, so I won't take any responsibilitys if something goes wrong...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    558
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    57
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    He can't, it is an AT PSU, not an ATX PSU.

    @ Corvid: Search for a 300W AT PSU which meets your SATA requirements and confirm the main power, i you need stuff like attached or not:

    You can look for stock of PP380V, that's an old AT PSU we were selling in some systems. But it has no 12P AT connector and I aint sure if our US branch still has some stock.

    The DVD duplicator vendor might have gotten custom cables from Mapower.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    64
    Thanked in
    58 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GI_Joe View Post
    He can't, it is an AT PSU, not an ATX PSU.
    AT and ATX PSUs use the same casing. The main difference is that AT PSUs don't have a +5VSB and +3,3V rail. That's all.

    Well, modern PSUs also have 120mm or bigger fans, AT don't...
    Ok, that may be a problem....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    558
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    57
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Never heard of Timing and Sequencing of the PG signal?

    Missing -5V on anything ATX12V 1.3+?

    What if he needs the second AC out?

    Also on 1 link from EHume that PSU has 9 Molex only, no SATA, Corvid needs 9 SATA. He could convert them though, IF the DVD duplicators dont need 3.3V if they use SATA II. (Most ODD & HDDs dont)

    Sorry to say, but you think it is all about caps and fan bearings

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Man this is tough to understand just reading. I don't know anything about voltages and such. I figured there has to be a company or many companies out there, making Disc Duplicator power supplies, since well, there's a lot of sites selling disc duplicators. I've contacted quite a few over the past week and have gotten only 2 replies. One company didn't want to sell me a power supply because they would rather sell me a new unit for $250~. The other said for me to ship it in and they'll take a look and fix it for me and of course, charge me, but without giving me any estimates on a timeframe or a cost.

Similar Threads

  1. What PSU to buy (please read description carefully)
    By Oliver Valdéz Guzmán in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-28-2018, 03:10 PM
  2. Read this if you're looking for PSU advice!
    By -The_Mask- in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-12-2018, 06:03 PM
  3. Just re-read this one from long ago and LOL'd
    By Jon Gerow in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-09-2013, 09:45 PM
  4. Funniest thing you ever read
    By crispy in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-08-2012, 08:13 PM
  5. What PSU for 4870 x2? (long read)
    By Pyrophoric in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 12:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •