Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: iBall 600w PSU help..with GTX 480

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Smile iBall 600w PSU help..with GTX 480

    Hello guys this is my first post here...

    My Rig is

    Intel Core i5 3570 (not OC)
    Gigabyte B75
    4 GB ram
    1 tb Seagate barricuda 7200 rpm
    Asus GTX 480
    And finally the PSU: iBall Sprinter 600 watts PSU

    My question is that because it has a dual Rail 12v pcie connector will it effect my GTX 480?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,640
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    66
    Thanked in
    60 Posts

    Default

    The PSU looks like shit. Replace it with a quality one.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well Yea the thing is I'm struck with this for a while..
    Anyways this PSU has dual 12v rails rated at 22A and 20A.
    And my Gtx 480 has one 6 pin and one 8 pin connector.

    So I connected the PSU as such.Now am I using both the 12v rails from PSU or I'm running on a single rail?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,064
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    270
    Thanked in
    196 Posts

    Default

    Don't know. Not a lot of info on "iBall". Both PCIe connectors could be on the same +12V.

    Is it shutting down?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Its not shutting down but I think I'm not getting enough performance off the card..

    The PSU says it has 12V v1 At 22 Amps and 12v v2 at 20 amps
    Just a quick question a single rail has both 6 pin and 8 pin connectors or are they distributed among 2 rails on my PSU?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    540
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    45
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    No idea, we can't tell - there's no info about this PSU on the Internet.
    Xeon X3440 @3,1GHz + GTX660 + 2x4GB @1650MHz CL9 + Corsair RM650

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    16,064
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    538
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    270
    Thanked in
    196 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by peterrayy View Post
    Its not shutting down but I think I'm not getting enough performance off the card..

    The PSU says it has 12V v1 At 22 Amps and 12v v2 at 20 amps
    Just a quick question a single rail has both 6 pin and 8 pin connectors or are they distributed among 2 rails on my PSU?
    It actually looks like a Huntkey unit.

    The PCIe connectors being on one vs. two rails makes absolutely no difference what so ever unless the PSU is shutting off because the source of the voltage is still the same. It's just split into two circuits and an OCP is put onto each making two "virtual" rails.

    Read the sticky that talks about the difference between single and multiple +12V rails to learn more.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks a lot GURU....
    Is there a software that can show how much power or Current my GPU is using??

    And BTW here is the link to the PSU official site funny thing is it is priced same as a corsair vs600w

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well I saw something Odd today.I installed MSi afterburner and saw the statistics on screen.while I was playing battlefield 3 the GPU utilization was not going more than 40 percent and the frame rates were terrible in high settings.And the power consumption in GPU z was not going above 80w..Please help guys I'm not able to figure what is wrong.!!!

Similar Threads

  1. BeQuiet! PurePower 9 CM 600W(L9-CM-600W) Review@ HWI
    By sith'ari in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-09-2016, 07:33 PM
  2. New PSU around 500-600W
    By kgeorgeg7 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-08-2012, 10:15 AM
  3. Silencer Mk3 from PCP&C (400-600W) - MKIII 600W Review @ HH
    By J.O in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-11-2011, 06:56 PM
  4. iBall PSU's?
    By Quiksilver in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-26-2009, 02:11 PM
  5. [WTA]Vantec Ion2 600w and ToPower SilentEZ 600w
    By seanlimys in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-14-2008, 09:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •