Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Bad Axe 2 Questions... UPDATE: Now Crossfire questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,689
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    512
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    114
    Thanked in
    86 Posts

    Default Bad Axe 2 Questions... UPDATE: Now Crossfire questions

    Does anyone know where the option to enable Speed Fan is on the Bad Axe 2 board? (D975XBX2KR)

    I've got this thing sitting here running sounding like a vacuum cleaner and I WILL kill someone if I don't figure out how to slow these fans down.

    It's not under HARDWARE MONITOR or POWER MANAGEMENT in the BIOS like every other board on Earth.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,689
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    512
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    114
    Thanked in
    86 Posts

    Default

    Never mind. Found it.

    It's under "boot options."

    But now the OEM Intel fan doesn't spin at all. LOL! Nice!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,689
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    512
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    114
    Thanked in
    86 Posts

    Default

    Ok. So this board has three PCI-e x16 slots. But according to the manual, PCI-e slot 2 only runs at x8 "electrically" and slot 3 only x4 "electrically."

    The manual also says that PCI-e x16 requires the 4-pin Molex located behind the CPU to be plugged in so the slot can get enough power.

    The manual even states that for "optimum performance" use slot 1 and 2.

    But when you have two cards that take up two slots each, like the X1950XTX's that I'm using, the fan of the top card is right up against the back of the second card and it gets VERY VERY HOT.

    I moved the second card to slot 3 and have noticed ZERO difference in my score using 3DMark'06. I've also noticed the video card running MUCH COOLER.

    When Intel suggests the electrical specifications for these slots, are they assuming the video card DOES NOT have a PEG power connector, which would mean ALL of the juice for the GPU would have to go through the slot or am I simply NOT pushing these cards to the point where I would see the difference between using the second card in the 3rd slot versus the 2nd.

    Thoughts?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    4,125
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    19
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post

    Thoughts?
    Don't buy Intel?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,689
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    512
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    114
    Thanked in
    86 Posts

    Default

    Now come on.

    I'm serious here. I have the build here and for grins I went ahead and put the Molex into the board.

    Why would the manual say I'm going to take a performance hit when clearly I am not experiencing a performance hit... if anything cooler temps.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Deland,Florida
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Are you using the free or pro edition of 3DM06?
    If you are using the free edition, your stuck at 1024x768
    higher res +AA will show you the difference in x16 vs. x4, especialy in Deep Freeze your scores should fall rather quickly
    If you have the pro version, jack those res and AA up

    As for the molex, I always plug it in for that "you never know" factor
    MSI P67A-GD65
    i72600K@4.8
    Corsair H70
    4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
    MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
    2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
    Zalman ZM-MFC1
    Lite-On Dvd burner
    SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
    Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
    Coolermaster HAF-932
    "Experience is the benchmark of maturity"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,689
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    512
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    114
    Thanked in
    86 Posts

    Default

    Free edition.

    Guess I better pay up to see if having this second card in slot 3 is hurting me!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,590
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CAD4466HK View Post
    Are you using the free or pro edition of 3DM06?
    If you are using the free edition, your stuck at 1024x768
    not true, I use the free edition of 06 and it runs at 1280x1024 on my computer.

    3dmark 06 score
    Rig 1: Phenom II X2 550-Asus M5A78L-MLX--2x4 Patriot DDR3 1333--Asus Formula HD4770--Enermax Triathlor 450--LG Flatron W2252TQ--Win 10 x64
    Rig 2: Core i3 6300--Asrock Z170M Extreme4--2x8 Adata DDR4 2400--EVGA GTX 750Ti--Corsair CX500M--Corsair Hydro H55--Windows 7 x64

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Deland,Florida
    Posts
    1,583
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrWicked1968 View Post
    not true, I use the free edition of 06 and it runs at 1280x1024 on my computer.

    3dmark 06 score
    My bad 1280x1024
    But are you able to increase the res and the AA?
    Didn't think so
    MSI P67A-GD65
    i72600K@4.8
    Corsair H70
    4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
    MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
    2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
    Zalman ZM-MFC1
    Lite-On Dvd burner
    SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
    Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
    Coolermaster HAF-932
    "Experience is the benchmark of maturity"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,590
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    didn't say I could, did I?
    Rig 1: Phenom II X2 550-Asus M5A78L-MLX--2x4 Patriot DDR3 1333--Asus Formula HD4770--Enermax Triathlor 450--LG Flatron W2252TQ--Win 10 x64
    Rig 2: Core i3 6300--Asrock Z170M Extreme4--2x8 Adata DDR4 2400--EVGA GTX 750Ti--Corsair CX500M--Corsair Hydro H55--Windows 7 x64

Similar Threads

  1. i have some questions..
    By zfactor in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-06-2008, 01:06 AM
  2. PSU questions
    By BoomerD in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-03-2007, 12:40 AM
  3. 2 questions for ya!!!
    By ianm2 in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-04-2007, 08:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •