jonnyGURU Forums

jonnyGURU Forums (http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/index.php)
-   PC Power Supply Discussion (http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   My PSU is dead? (http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11271)

JST 12-10-2013 02:15 PM

My PSU is dead?
 
PSU: Silverstone 550W Strider Gold
Major components: 3570k stock, 290 unlocked to 290x stock,

Problem: Gradual degradation, no power.

Shortly after installing the 290, my rig started to require 2-3 resets before it would post and boot, but today it suddenly got worse. I reset several times, but it wouldn't post, then I had to leave it shut off for other stuff. Now, nothing happens when I push the power button, not a fan spin, absolutely nothing.

At first, I thought it was the 290 causing issues, but I tested with both the 290 and 290x bios', iGPU and even cleared cmos, but the same problem was always present.

Since there is absolutely no power coming to the rig, I guess the PSU is quite surely dead, is there an easy way to confirm this and what might be the cause?

jonnyGURU 12-10-2013 02:46 PM

Does your motherboard have a +5VSB LED?

Did you use a paper clip to see if you could jump start the PSU?

Is probably the PSU, but could be the motherboard.

JST 12-10-2013 03:01 PM

No LED, Mobo is P8Z77-I

Also, this was tested with 2 mobos using the same components, since I changed mobos in between today, B75M-ITX from AsRock and the pre-mentioned Asus.

Both had the post problem, but powering on died completely on the Asus.

Jump start worked, or atleast the PSU fan spun.

JST 12-10-2013 03:02 PM

There is the SB_PWR LED though, and it always lit green.

jonnyGURU 12-10-2013 04:21 PM

Well, if you used two different boards and had the problem with having to reset a couple times, sounds like you already determined your PSU is dying/dead.

JST 12-10-2013 04:32 PM

It was my first thought.

Like I previously mentioned, this problem started after I added the 290.

Then why did it die? This PSU should be able to handle a stock 3570k + 290(x)

Or maybe the cap on the other PCI-e power connector was there for a reason...

allikat 12-11-2013 06:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JST (Post 102702)
It was my first thought.

Like I previously mentioned, this problem started after I added the 290.

Then why did it die? This PSU should be able to handle a stock 3570k + 290(x)

Or maybe the cap on the other PCI-e power connector was there for a reason...

Bad Units that sneak through quality control happen to every company. The cap on the PCI-E cable is to add extra smoothing to that connector, it is there for a reason.

JST 12-11-2013 07:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by allikat (Post 102714)
Bad Units that sneak through quality control happen to every company. The cap on the PCI-E cable is to add extra smoothing to that connector, it is there for a reason.

They do...

Btw, I meant that the second PCI-e connector on the PSU itself was blocked off with a simple removable rubber cap.

mdk777 12-11-2013 07:32 AM

to keep dust out when you are not using it.
not an indication that you shouldn't. :D

EDIT: if you can change models with the RMA, I would step up the wattage. You were right that 550 should have been enough. However, if you are going to flash to 290x and OC, you could be using more than you think.

When they bin down to 290, it is often for a reason(not just to establish a different price point) one of the reasons can be excessive draw at full load.

JST 12-11-2013 07:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mdk777 (Post 102717)
to keep dust out when you are not using it.
not an indication that you shouldn't. :D

Well that's just silly, since it's the only connector with a cap on it.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.