jonnyGURU Forums

jonnyGURU Forums (http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Speaker changes. (http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11136)

Silk_the_Absent1 11-19-2013 01:42 PM

Speaker changes.
 
So my Boston Acoustics BA7900 SPEAKERS have developed a problem. The front right channel doesn't work. I tested the speaker on another channel and it works, and tried it on my motherboards onboard audio which gave the same result, so it's either the port, something in the amp, or the controller.

I hate to lose such good speakers, so I'm considering pulling the amp from the sub and powering the sub with a dedicated amp plate. Should that work?

Also, I need to look up the impedance on the speakers, but as clear as they are, I'm tempted to get a set of RCA to speaker wire connectors and use them all with a stand-alone receiver. Should that also work?

-Adam

Oklahoma Wolf 11-19-2013 02:41 PM

It would work, but you'd lose any EQ or DSP the old amp had.

Silk_the_Absent1 11-19-2013 02:59 PM

I'm okay with that. Actually, the old amp didn't have any, near as I can find.

What are the rules with impedance? I can never remember if the amp can be higher, or the speakers.

-Adam

Oklahoma Wolf 11-19-2013 03:02 PM

Just make sure the new amp is rated to drive the speakers' impedance.

walterm 11-23-2013 02:03 PM

You can browse these guys for various bits,
http://www.parts-express.com/cat/ful...amplifiers/333
Or amazon.

Silk_the_Absent1 11-24-2013 01:16 AM

I just won this amp. It tested good, so, I just need to dig out my receiver (tested it on a friend's), and pick up some RCA to speaker wire converters.

-Adam

Silk_the_Absent1 12-06-2013 01:02 AM

So I remembered that I kept the control module from my first set of BA-7900s that was killed in a lightning strike (as well as the speakers). I tested this set with the old controller, and it works, so I'm going to use it that way, and put the new amp in the old subwoofer to use in the living room. So that problem is solved, yay!

New problem. I run the audio going into my TV back to my computer to play through the 7900s, and while I have the front panel with my Audigy 2 ZS Platinum, I don't want to run an optical cable there, as it would be in the way in my not-too-huge bedroom, but I also don't like the lack of a real 5.1 signal going into the computer, as you can tell it's using CMSS, which while better than nothing, is nowhere near real 5.1 quality. So my options are: find an exceedingly rare rear add-on digital I/O module; or get a new sound card that has rear optical-in.

Any suggestions either way?

-Adam

Silk_the_Absent1 12-08-2013 10:14 AM

Any suggestions?

-Adam

Silk_the_Absent1 12-16-2013 10:20 AM

I found a Sony STR-K502 receiver at my local Goodwill store the other day, and I finished modifying the subwoofer from my old set of BA-7900s (had to extend the back with some 2x3 studs to accommodate the deeper amp plate I got to replace the stock one). Now I just need to find a set of the Creative Home Theater Cables to connect my computer to it. Hopefully that will be doable.

-Adam

Silk_the_Absent1 12-16-2013 11:21 AM

Hmm. It seems to me that for connecting it to the receiver for 5.1, I should be able to use three 1/8 to RCA cables, which I think I have that many somewhere here.

One more question, As of now, I run all TV audio (TV, WII, PS3) to the computer via an RCA to 1/8 into the sound card. For simplicity, I would like to run an optical cable from the TV to the receiver. Would that work for 5.1 from the PS3? Or do I need to run an additional optical from it to the receiver?

-Adam


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.