jonnyGURU Forums

jonnyGURU Forums (http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/index.php)
-   Operating Systems (http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Weird BSODs On Startup (http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7221)

rty 11-03-2010 09:47 PM

Weird BSODs On Startup
 
I can't figure this one out. My PC hates being started up. Sometimes it boots up just fine but sometimes I get a BSOD once Windows loads. Once this happens then no matter how many times I restart I will get a BSOD. I need to power off the system, and start it again, and it will work fine. If I restart and boot in safe mode I get the BSOD once Windows loads. I need to power off and start it up again and that seems to work fine.

The BSOD message is also not consistent, sometimes it is PROCESS_INITIALIZATION_FAILURE sometimes it is something else.

Otherwise I have no issues with the system whatsoever.

I'm running:
Windows 7 64-bit
250 x2 CPU
GA-MA770T-UD3P board
ATI 4770 GPU
1 HD 1 DVD drive
Corsair VX550

shovenose 11-03-2010 10:06 PM

are you overclocking at all?
have you tried an extensive memory test (ie memtest86)
have you checked your hard drive for errors (free version of hdtune)

rty 11-03-2010 10:09 PM

Never overclocked anything on this system.

HDTune says no errors.

I'll run a memtest and see what happens.

rty 11-04-2010 08:42 AM

Damn, there are errors!

McSteel 11-04-2010 09:53 AM

Which memory are you using?
At what settings?
In which DIMM slots?

Maybe it's not malfunctioning, I've seen numerous cases where changing some timings or voltage around solved it; in others simply putting the memory sticks in different slots made all the difference...

shovenose 11-04-2010 10:45 AM

O.o imma genius :)
What ram at what speeds/timing etc...

rty 11-04-2010 06:11 PM

Installed in DIMMs 0 and 1 I have:

G.SKILL F3-10666CL9D-4GBNQ PC3-10666 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1333 CL9-9-9-24

I have the timing set to Auto so it is running @:

667MHZ 9-9-9-9-24

Also my voltage is set to Auto so it should be running at 1.5V

Looks like other people may be having the same issue with this RAM:

http://forums.ncix.com/forums/index....d=0#msg2104965

McSteel 11-04-2010 06:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rty (Post 69466)
Installed in DIMMs 0 and 1 I have:

G.SKILL F3-10666CL9D-4GBNQ PC3-10666 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1333 CL9-9-9-24

I have the timing set to Auto so it is running @:

667MHZ 9-9-9-9-24

Also my voltage is set to Auto so it should be running at 1.5V

Looks like other people may be having the same issue with this RAM:

http://forums.ncix.com/forums/index....d=0#msg2104965

Alright, leaving the modules seated in the slots they currently occupied, try the following:
- Set speed manually to 667 (x2)
- Set timings manually to 9-9-9-27, 2t command rate
- Set voltage manually to 1.65V
- Raise NorthBridge voltage only slightly, do not go above 1.4V

Re-test, and if it fails, report back the board's hardware revision (1.0, 1.1, 1.3, 1.4 ...) and the BIOS version you're currently using, then we'll see what to do next. Good luck :)

rty 11-04-2010 06:59 PM

I tried those settings I still get errors.

My revision is 1.0 and BIOS version is F10.

McSteel 11-04-2010 07:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rty (Post 69479)
I tried those settings I still get errors.

My revision is 1.0 and BIOS version is F10.

Have you tried running the modules one at a time? There is an update to the BIOS, F11c, but if you don't have some stable RAM lying around, it's probably best not to gamble with an update.

Also, try running them in slots DIMM2 and DIMM3, just for the heck of it.

Did you try the modules in any other motherboard(s)? If so, what were the results?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -