jonnyGURU Forums

jonnyGURU Forums (http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/index.php)
-   Testing Methodology Discussion (http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   The All Purpose SunMoon Retirement Thread (http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13865)

Oklahoma Wolf 12-09-2016 01:32 PM

The All Purpose SunMoon Retirement Thread
 
1 Attachment(s)
Say hello to my not so little friend.

The dual SM-268s have officially been retired. They took one look at this monster and went into hiding.

The new load tester is a FastAuto FA-4200ATE. The two SunMoons could load about 1kW each, and that was for only a short time until I bolted extra fans to them. This unit can load 3920W.

Expect any fan noise comparisons to be even more irrelevant - I count at least three 120mm screamers in this thing, and a fourth will be bolted to the back so I can get the hot air into the hot box.

I hope to add some more tests to the methodology as I learn how to operate this beast, but for now things won't change a lot. A lot of wiring work needs to be done to pull in the breakout board properly so I can take advantage of the super high capacity of the four 12V rails this things has.

The D5100 was too intimidated to get this shot. The D800 had to shoot it instead :D

Attachment 2478

Internet 12-09-2016 01:40 PM

Wow, congrats!!!! :D

But what are the advantages of the FastAuto over the SM-268?

Edit, got too excited, started to ask before looking, hahahaha...

http://www.fastauto.com.tw/english/E-4200ATE.htm

Oklahoma Wolf 12-09-2016 05:13 PM

The beast has just run its first set of cold tests on a 750W unit. Managed to kick two of the fans into high speed for a little bit. Now I know where the most hot air comes out for the hot box duct.

-The_Mask- 12-13-2016 04:17 AM

Can you add fan speed measuring? :)

Stefan Payne 12-13-2016 04:41 AM

Congrats...
I'd like to have a load tester myself...

You don't know where one could get one rather cheap, do you? :D

Internet 12-13-2016 11:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by -The_Mask- (Post 133891)
Can you add fan speed measuring? :)

He's already doing this: http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...tory3&reid=496

Tator Tot 12-13-2016 12:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Internet (Post 133905)

He's only done fan speed measurements on units like that because they're digital and have software which reports the fan speed.

Oklahoma Wolf 12-13-2016 12:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by -The_Mask- (Post 133891)
Can you add fan speed measuring? :)

Nope, the hot box will not allow it.

-The_Mask- 12-13-2016 01:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oklahoma Wolf (Post 133907)
Nope, the hot box will not allow it.

Add a window with plexiglass or something like that, so you can read the fan speed.

Stefan Payne 12-13-2016 04:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oklahoma Wolf (Post 133907)
Nope, the hot box will not allow it.

Why would you do it in the hot box?
In there all PSUs should be rather loud.

With normal or a bit higher room temperature (25-30C) I find it more useful than the hot box values...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -