PDA

View Full Version : Any risk cause by voltage drop from 220v to 190v?



Testakraze
09-18-2012, 07:08 AM
I check my house with voltmeter, it's 193volt then check my neighbor house, it's 197volt

normally the voltage was 220volt

1. any risk caused by this voltages drop?
any example some electronic that cannot stand with 190volt while the spec says 220volt needed?
maybe the air conditioner
and looks like this 190volt mean i need higher ampere electrical switches

2. any prevention? or solution? because all my neighbor get this same problem too, maybe there some hardware to raise the voltage to 220volt?

Thx

cypherpunks
09-18-2012, 02:16 PM
Common induction motors running at reduced voltage tend to draw more current, leading to more heat generation, and possible overheating. Air conditioner, refrigerator, dishwasher, washing machine, etc.

Light bulbs, heaters, and similar resistive loads running at a voltage 10% low will just produce 20%less power. Annoying, but rarely dangerous.

A modern APFC power supply won't care.

Digerati
09-19-2012, 08:03 AM
any prevention? or solution? because all my neighbor get this same problem too, maybe there some hardware to raise the voltage to 220volt?Yeah, call the power company.

You could "step up" the voltage but that would be a bad idea because when (if) the power company sorts it out, then your mains may be too high.

It is common for voltages to vary throughout the day. And while there is no world-wide industry standard for tolerances, it is typically no more than ±10%. So 10% of 220 would be 22 and 220-22 = 198. So in my mind, yours is too low.

silicon
02-28-2014, 09:20 AM
I check my house with voltmeter, it's 193volt then check my neighbor house, it's 197volt

normally the voltage was 220volt

1. any risk caused by this voltages drop?
any example some electronic that cannot stand with 190volt while the spec says 220volt needed?
maybe the air conditioner
and looks like this 190volt mean i need higher ampere electrical switches

2. any prevention? or solution? because all my neighbor get this same problem too, maybe there some hardware to raise the voltage to 220volt?

Thx
if you check the specification for the power supply it should indicate a range of voltages it will operate at. Normally its in the region of +/- 10%.

ashiekh
12-22-2017, 06:29 PM
An automatic voltage regulator will fix things

https://www.amazon.com/APC-LE1200-Automatic-Voltage-Regulator/dp/B00009RA60/ref=sr_1_fkmr1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1513981720&sr=8-1-fkmr1&keywords=voltage+corrector+APC