PDA

View Full Version : The Be Quiet Straight Power is Definitely a FSP



madmat
12-01-2006, 01:51 PM
I just got through running the BQT 650 E5 on the 268 and the 12V rails had 100mv (+/- peak to peak) at 13A per rail load. This is for a total of 52A on the 12V rails and the PSU running at 670W including the 5VSB and -12V rails. Thing is that with just 4A on the 12V (each rail) rails they have nearly 60mv of ripple, again peak to peak.

The ripple numbers have it folks, I declare it a FSP with a very nice facelift.

CAD4466HK
12-01-2006, 01:55 PM
:eek: :eek:
Danger! Will Robinson Danger!
That's just...... I don't even know what to say to that:p
Well, I think I already did:)

madmat
12-01-2006, 02:00 PM
Well, this compared to the Duro 900 I reviewed for Techgage the ripple is totally alarming. Here's a quote from an update I did to the review thread at TG forums:


Just a quick update, I have loaded the Duro to 750W with 600W on the 12V rails and the 12V voltages dropped .02V at full load from 12.06 (at 580W, 432W on the 12V rails) to 12.04V and a total of .10V from a 96W load which were 12.14 with a 48W load on the 12V rails. At 750W the ripple on the 12V rails was a mere 20mv and the 3.3V rail was at 10mv as was the 5V rail. The 5V rail was at 17A and the 3.3V rail was at 14A on the 750W test.

I'll try a higher output wattage after I have some time to sit and calculate the wattages for the load, this test was done on the fly. As it sits the Duro is an awesome 750W PSU, I'd be hard pressed to find another PSU that has so little ripple with a 600W load on the 12V rails.

The ripple on that PSU is simply phenomenal.

CAD4466HK
12-01-2006, 02:08 PM
That Duro is a definite badass:D
As for the Straight Power, Straight Power my ass:p
More like Straight back to where it was bought, or Straight to the frakken
dumpster, or Straight.....I could go on and on:p

madmat
12-01-2006, 02:11 PM
Yeah, I've got plans for that badass too. :)

CAD4466HK
12-01-2006, 02:14 PM
What, you going to run 4 G80's on 2 different rigs:D

Super Nade
12-01-2006, 02:14 PM
madmat, did you find the time to take pics of the internals? Are they using the same AsiaX caps in the Primary side (likeFSP made OCZ units) ?

madmat
12-01-2006, 02:40 PM
Yes, I have pics, dunno, I think it's a Hitachi but I'm not sure, gotta look.

Edit: The primary cap is a CapXon not Hitachi.

Edit edit: The secondary side is the same, there are very few filtering caps, small wonder there's so much ripple.