PDA

View Full Version : Chieftec GPS-450AA-101a



darth
10-14-2006, 05:26 PM
Hello,

I'm going to buy a new computer with these specs:

Intel Core2 Duo E6600
Asus P5B-Deluxe
2x1GB RAM GeIL PC-6400
x1900XT
Seagate 250 GB Barracuda (ATA/300, 8MB, 7200)
+ LG Burner
+ floppy
+ Scythe Infinity

I've been offered to buy a chieftec GPS-450AA-101a PSU? Is this good PSU?Will it handle E6600? I'll try to make some oc soon(maybe to reach FSB 400).

If it's bad, what kind of other PSU would You recommend?

Thank You very much in advance for help

madmat
10-14-2006, 05:41 PM
I'd offer an opinion but I dunno who OEM's for them. Could be good, could be horrid but I'd suggest against it unless you can run the UL number and show that it's made by a quality OEM as opposed to Deer or somebody like that.

dBTelos
10-14-2006, 05:42 PM
I wouldn't take it. Chieftec is a no-name brand, and I have no doubts that, that PSU is crap. 500W Ultra X-Finity would work good. Silverstone Element 500W Plus is another option.

-dB

GalvanizedYankee
10-14-2006, 05:47 PM
Chieftec is built by Sirtec and should be OK for build quality. The last person I spoke to about Chieftec lived in India, so few options were open to him.
Give us a location in your profile so we may assist you better.

Oklahoma Wolf
10-14-2006, 05:56 PM
Yonder Chieftec has a Delta part number. If it is indeed a Delta, it's a good unit. If.

darth
10-14-2006, 06:25 PM
I'm from Poland. It will cost me around 70$ but if necessary I'm willing to pay extra 30-50$.I've read a lot of stuff about 12V line and in Chieftec 450AA specs are:

+5V 28A
+3,3V 30A
max. 145W on both

+12V1 14A 168W
+12V2 15A 180W
-12V 0.5A 6W
+5VSB 2A 10W

irev210
10-14-2006, 08:34 PM
my vote is enhance 500W

Good value for that type of setup.

burebista
10-15-2006, 02:16 AM
That Chieftec is a Delta. We have it here and it's OK.
But I suggest to look for a Silverstone Element Plus or Akasa FG8 (both based on new Enhance certified 80+).
Or a Fortron GreenPower/Bluestorm II or Antec Basiq (same Fortron GreenPower but packed by Antec).

Jon Gerow
10-15-2006, 08:17 AM
Antec Basiq (same Fortron GreenPower but packed by Antec).

Confirm?

I've never seen an Antec built by FSP.

burebista
10-15-2006, 08:28 AM
I know from varzpot (http://www.ocforums.com/member.php?u=69396). At service he have both Antec and FSP and he opened both. I believe him.

GalvanizedYankee
10-15-2006, 08:39 AM
I'm from Poland. It will cost me around 70$ but if necessary I'm willing to pay extra 30-50$.I've read a lot of stuff about 12V line and in Chieftec 450AA specs are:

+5V 28A
+3,3V 30A
max. 145W on both

+12V1 14A 168W
+12V2 15A 180W
-12V 0.5A 6W
+5VSB 2A 10W

If it is indeed built with/by Delta, it should be a good unit as stated by OK Wolf.
Good cheap PSUs are provided for the EU by Enhance in The Netherlands. http://www.enhanceusa.com/ >Corp. Info.

darth
10-15-2006, 10:17 AM
According to information which I've gathered in net it is made by Delta Electronics.However it is said that this is quite loud PSU.On the other hand lots of websites state that Seasonic is the quietest PSU.Is it true?

burebista
10-15-2006, 10:38 AM
On the other hand lots of websites state that Seasonic is the quietest PSU.Is it true?
When it comes to silent computing you don' need a lots of websites. Is enough just one: SPCR (http://www.silentpcreview.com/). :D

dBTelos
10-15-2006, 10:41 AM
Seasonic is one of the quietest.